Is Kaspersky Internet Security a network resource hog?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sakumar79, Aug 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Hi,
    I have Kaspersky Internet Security 2010 on my system. I noticed that it is downloading about 35 MB every day. (I checked by going to Network Monitor and seeing usage in Network Traffic Tab)

    Is this normal?

    Thanks in advance
    Arun
     
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    KIS downloads virus definitions every hour.

    So, in a way u can say that. But what it does is only for u... ;-)
     
  3. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    35MB per day..?? u got to be kidding me...

    I hv KIS 2009, only an initial update of defs and program components takes 20mb, after tat, every virus def (wich gets d/loaded) thereafter in a gap of 4 hrs-6hrs each (if u hv set ur KIS to AUTOMATICALLY D/load updates/definitions) is jus a platry 2-3mb and NOT 35MB....

    edit: maybe its KIS2010 version so its certain tat it might be updating itself (program files., components, engines and its virus databases) for the very 1st time u hv connected to the net.. :)
     
  4. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    It might be your total network usage daily
     
  5. ashu888ashu888

    ashu888ashu888 Core i7 (nehalem) Owner

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ^^

    well then tats too low to be actually called a net usage.. jus 35mb. .?? :D:D lol...
     
  6. Ramakrishnan

    Ramakrishnan The Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have KIS 2010. It hardly downloads 2-3 mb everyday.
     
  7. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    KIS firewall is not perfect
     
  8. OP
    OP
    sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    @Ramakrishnan, did you check it in Network Monitor->Network traffic or is it based on the size of downloads noticed or based on other bandwidth monitoring tools?

    Arun
     
  9. Ramakrishnan

    Ramakrishnan The Researcher

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I have tautology bandwidth monitor. It will show the bandwidth usage for a day or a certain time or for a particular month. It never showed more than 3.-4 MB. This is because I have KIS on my Laptop and I connect to the net only for updating KIS. Secondly KIS itself shows the download size and thirdly I check on the ISP site the usage. It always tallies more or less.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page