1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Got new Dell Studio 15 - Query Regarding Partition

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by varuog, Jul 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. varuog

    varuog New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hii friends.

    Finally I received my Dell Studio 15. The Topo Black Colour is really good. Overall, though I've not used it much, I found it quite good. Especially the keyboard.

    Anyways, as I had ordered for a 500GB disc, I got it into two partitions. One of 450Gb and the other (recovery drive) of 50 Gb.
    Now, I am not very happy about this.
    Firstly because, I believe that partitioning the drive increases performance.
    Secondly, if I have a single drive, I might loose all my data if I need to reinstall windows in future.

    So, I've thought of dividing the dics into 4 drives. First of 50 GB and the other 3 of 150GB each. I plan to install Windows Vista & Ubuntu in the 1st drive.

    What are your opinions? Did I go wrong anywhere? Or are there any better solutions. Please help me.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I don't have your answer,

    But do you get Win VISTA Full Installation DVD ? (As I ask earlier),

    if not,by formatting the recovery partition you will lose the OS.(AFAIK)
     
  3. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Partitioning is a nice idea. I agree on what you said about data loss. I keep my OS and data on separate partitions. You would've mostly gotten a proper windows vista dvd. So just partition it the way you like and install the OS. You can either use vista's partition manager to manage partitions during install or gparted or some other stand alone partition manager.

    Also, installing windows and ubuntu (via wubi) on the same partition isn't recommended. Either install it in a dedicated partition or use a virtual machine.
     
  4. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I say avoid virtual machine unless its an experimental OS. Avoid WuBi unless you are totally new and/or want to install in a PC where you can't edit partitions or resize them due to lack of time or due to file clutter.

    Always install Ubuntu in a dedicated EXT4 partition. And SWAP is not compulsary if you have over 1GB of RAM and don't mind not being able to hibernate.
     
  5. Pragadheesh

    Pragadheesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    but i dont think u can partition using vista dvd.! Dell would have restricted just one drive(C:) in your laptop. so when you try doing a fresh installation of vista by partitioning in a smaller volume(say 30gb), the rest 420 gb space disappears(excluding recovery drive).. I was facing a similar problem in my friend's laptop.. But didnt get any solution. Even vista's partition manager didn't work..

    Later when i checked dell site to book a laptop for my sis, i found that they charge extra for partitioning your hard disk. so they restrict is from doing so. But anyone who have a solution or who have previously succeeded in partition dell laptop running on vista, post a solution here. even i'm in need of it.
     
  6. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Avoid Wubi - Yes
    Avoid VM - I fail to get your point.

    Just pop in the Vista DVD and partition during install. I don't see a reason why you are not allowed to do so. Don't choose the option to 'partition' and pay extra. Thats BS!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    varuog

    varuog New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you please tell my why ???

    And, I've formatted my lappy and partitioned it using the Vista Boot Disc that I got.
    Was able to make only a maximum of three partitions though. Still, it served my purpose.

    Now, should I install the Ubuntu in the same drive where Windows is installed or on a different partition ??
     
  8. Arun the Gr8

    Arun the Gr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    I dont know why this is happening. I recently bought a Dell Inspiron 1545 and repartitioned my hdd into 5 partitions without any fuzz. Did u delete the recovery drive bcoz i did mine. And mine didnt work anyways..
     
  9. arjie

    arjie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, Tamil Nadu
    Well he said that installing Windows and Ubuntu on the same partition isn't recommended. That's sensible, of course, since that isn't even possible unless you use Wubi (which just installs Ubuntu to a file on your Windows system) because Windows doesn't install to anything but NTFS and Ubuntu doesn't install to NTFS.

    Installing to different partitions on the same drive is quite straightforward, though, and is perfectly fine.

    If you were unable to create more than 3 partitions, this may be a combination of the fact that Dell (used to) put a hidden restore partition at the beginning of your hard drive and the fact that you made them all primary partitions. It is only possible to have 4 primary partitions, the rest have to be secondary partitions within an extended partition.
     
  10. utsav

    utsav damn busy...

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jhansi/Meerut
    i partitioned the HDD of my dell studio just after an hour of getting it ,what i did was that i deleted both the partitions and created a single partition of 30GB and rest was kept as unpartitioned space, after installing windows i went into control panel ,then administrative tools and then disk management and created 5 more partitions(total 6 including OS partition) from that unpartitioned space , thats the easiest way to make more than 3 partitions
     
  11. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perfectly answered! :)

    Windows installation only allows you create primary partitions and that is limited to 4, as said. Just don't create more partitions as utsav said. Once installed create an extended partition with the remaining space and make logical partitions in that extended volume.

    Also, Ubuntu is known to mess up via Wubi. At least during uninstall. I would either recomm. you to install in a native partition or use it as a virtual machine.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    varuog

    varuog New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps you are right !
    But, when I first got the laptop, the total disc space was 500Gb.
    Now, after I've formatted and partioned, only 465 Gb of memory is available. I have no idea where the rest 35gb went !

    I even tried booting with a ubuntu cd and totalled the disc space. It still sums upto 465gb.
    Somebody please help me ...
     
  13. utsav

    utsav damn busy...

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jhansi/Meerut
    ^^are you using a computer for the first time in ur life?? :shock:

    that 465GB space is normal and when the laptop comes with factory installed OS its 450 GB for the windows OS partition and rest 15GB is allocated to recovery partition , didnt u notice that thing when u first got the lappy? :confused:

    every HDD's actual space is less than the stated space coz the manufacturer calculates space based on kilobytes , megabytes and gigabytes theory which means 1000KB=1MB , 1000MB=1GB , 1000GB = 1TB

    but windows and whatever OS u use calculates space based on Kibibytes , Mebibytes ,Gibibytes theory which means that 1024 Kibibyte = 1 Mebibyte and 1024 Mebibyte = 1 Gibibyte and 1024 Gibibytes = 1 Tebibyte so on so obviously your HDD space will always be shown less than the stated space, what leads to the confusion is that these terms are not widely known to common people and they end up confused filing disputes against the manufacturer's for giving false information .

    i hope this clears up ur confusion
     
  14. OP
    OP
    varuog

    varuog New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your answer ... but I don't think that what you told is correct. In fact you should have read my previous post more precisely.

    I have clearly mentioned that when I initially got the lappy, the total disc space was 500gb - in which the primary partition was 450gb & the recovery drive was 50gb. So, that sums up to 500gb. Right?

    Now, after I've formatted the disc, the total space shown is 465gb.

    I even contacted the customer care, and he couldn't give a proper answer. The only option was to give the laptop for servicing in which they would restore it back. But, that would erase all the data. So I didn't opt for it.

    Still, thanks for the replies !!!
     
  15. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What makes you think the answer he gave was wrong? All 500GB drives are in fact 465GiB. They are in fact 500,000,000,000 bytes and not exactly 500GB.

    So divide that by 500,000,000,000/(1024 * 1024 * 1024) = 465.66128730773926 GiB. You can do the math yourself.
     
  16. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    interesting, and not possible. you cant get exact 500GB as shown in our windows. you can see 5000000000 or like that but not 500 GB, reason is industry standards they sell you 500 x 10^3 x 10^3 x 10^3 Bytes, instead of selling 500 x 1024 x 1024 x 1024 Bytes

    which actually comes out to be 465.66 GB with exact calculations, which your new readings show which is right
     
  17. utsav

    utsav damn busy...

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jhansi/Meerut
    :lol:
    check this screenshot [​IMG]

    Disk 0 is the 500GB HDD of the lappy which shows 465.76GB only in actual
    Disk 1 is my 640GB external HDD which shows up as 596.17GB only so there you can understand that every HDD space is calculated on the basis of that theory which i mentioned earlier and there is nothing to worry
     
  18. billyboybad

    billyboybad New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do not make too many partitions, minimum for the the drive u installing the OS & rest for the data.
     
  19. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any specific reason behind this advice?
     
  20. utsav

    utsav damn busy...

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jhansi/Meerut
    :|:razz::shock::-o:D

    point a valid reason too dude :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page