Good RAM for Core 2 Duo

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by dhawald, Sep 21, 2006.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhawald

    dhawald New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am planning to buy core 2 duo E6400
    And 2 gb of RAM

    So what is the cost of good branded DDR2 RAM of about 800 Mhz
     
  2. vinyas

    vinyas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    800 is a bit expensive,most Dealers are disposing of there Rams @ 533,so Beware

    Go for 667,Transcend Pieces are good & reliable ,or best is Corsair
     
  3. anu0512

    anu0512 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    kanpur
    ddr-2 800 mhz is useless for core 2 duo u just buy ddr-2 667 mhz ram u cannot utilize 800 mhz
     
  4. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DDR2 800 is not useless, something expensive can't be called useless.

    DDR2 667 value RAM will be around 11-12k, expensive RAM or good RAM as you say like Corsair XMS or Kingston HyperX will be around 20k or more.

    Rather get 4GB DDR2 533/667 Value at this point of time after a few months.
     
  5. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    What makes you think 800 Mhz is useless for C2D. Your mobo should support it thats more imp.

    Trust me dhawald, choose any.... 667 or 800 depends upon your budget (and mobo ofcourse), but go for only Corsair. Believe me its THE best ram around. It rocks. Not vey costly. Run a survay on the net and you will know what I mean when I say Corsair rocks.

    The next best option I would suggest is Kingston. Another damn good brand.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  6. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Corsair is the best but not as such better than other. You won't notice much of a difference, although if corsair is compatible with your mobo and exceeds your budget only slightly and you find a overclockable chip, then get it, else don't. D9 is ocable.

    I would any day get Transcend over Kingston.
     
  7. vinyas

    vinyas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i heard Corsair .... is not compactible with few C2D mobo's....is that true ?
     
  8. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a couple of 1GB sticks of transcend 667... one week old wanna dispose off cos I'm getting ddr2 1000 in a few days. PM me if you want them. Will give u for 1k less than market price. These transcends are based on micron d9gmh which happens to be one of the best chips currently available and do 850 @ 4-4-4 @2.2V easily.
     
  9. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Which mobos are you talking about....
     
  10. Sandman

    Sandman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats a really great deal :D transcends have 3-5 year warranty
     
  11. anu0512

    anu0512 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    kanpur
    can u send ur full configuration of ur computer and price of ur motherboard and cpu, and where 2 buy in delhi
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  12. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    Kingston is good,get a 2 X 512 DDR RAM @533MHz
    Total cost is about Rs 4200-4300 from Nehru Place.
     
  13. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    U have any idea how much 1 GB DDR2 800 Mhz costs. Kingston.
     
  14. aquamatrix

    aquamatrix New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pune
    the kingston 1gb ddr2 800 mhz are very very expensive around 8-9k (not sure)
     
  15. vinyas

    vinyas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey guys..... R Corsair Pieces Really Expensive ??

    wat about 1 Gb DDR - II @ 667 ?

    u guys help out........
     
  16. anu0512

    anu0512 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    kanpur
    DDR-2 800 mhz it's cost about 7400k - 7600k:cool:
    __________
    any one known wat is the price of c2d E6600
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
  17. r2d2

    r2d2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @akshayt
    "I would any day get Transcend over Kingston."

    why?
     
  18. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    lol Transcend over Kingston u must be kidding....
     
  19. Ch@0s

    Ch@0s New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. sam9s

    sam9s The High 5 Flyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    New Delhi
    First of all you are comparing Transcend JetRam with Corsair value ram, it should be corsair XMS2. Secondly kingston is no where in the picture, for which the original statement was. and thirdly we are talking about best RAM for C2D processors and C2D practically means OC. Given that... Corsair Memory XMS2 1 GB PC2-6400 800 Mhz DDR2 RAM is THE ram to choose for. Check out this article if thats what you prefer......
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/memory/display/ddr2-800_8.html
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page