FREQUENT DISCONNECTION on Netgear D500 N150 ADSL ROUTER

Discussion in 'Networking' started by kool, May 29, 2018.

  1. kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hi guys, Bought a Netgear D500 N150 ADSL router from amazon. And after 1 week it starts giving problem. I am getting frequent disconnection on WiFi but working fine on desktop using lan cable. Even after restart also it doesn't work sometime.

    I have updated to latest version of firmware also. I am using BSNL broadband. Kindly tell me how to solve this issue ?

    Thank you
     
  2. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Disconnection means what,wifi signal disappears or wifi is connected but net connectivity is lost.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Both happens,
     
  4. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Have you checked wifi with some other device,say,another mobile/laptop?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    yes sir, Facing this issue with all laptop and cellphone. In cellphone it sometime doesn't show Wifi name and sometimes its its connected but there is no data transfer. On Amazon site most of user reported the same issue. Now Kindly tell me. How to solve both issue ? Do I need to change some settings ?
     
  6. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    It may be a hardware issue too.Try using WEP encryption in wifi security--password settings.Note it is just for testing if router's cpu is unable to handle the processing load of standard & recommended WPA2 encryption.Even if it works one should not use such a device incapable of handling WPA2.If with WEP same issue is there then most likely it is either hardware or firmware issue. You can also try wifi signal antenna strength setting etc.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Still facing the issue, I read somewhere that its happening because of cordless phone interference. What is the solution now ?
     
  8. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Cordless phone works on 2.4GHz so it can interfere but never seen a case of such strong interference before,try turning phone off to see if it helps.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    plz suggest me any kther router at budget price that wkrks perfectly ?


    Do u have any idea about TENDA D TE-151 ?
     
  10. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Never bought any tenda product so no idea.What is your budget for router?If you can spend ~4.5k then asus ac58u is the best option.Also it is better to use wired adsl modem+wifi router compared to using an adsl wifi router.I would have recommend tplink w8968 if your budget was ~2k only as it is an adsl wifi router but seems like it is not available at this price online or available from new/low rated sellers on amazon.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    budget : Rs.1500
     
  12. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
  13. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
  14. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    You can check to see if new firmware is available & update it yourself.I have no idea about digisol as I don't use or recommend new/generic/small brands when it comes to modems & routers.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    kool

    kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Finally bought DIGISOL DG-BG4100NU for Rs.1400, and working smoothly.
     
  16. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,086
    Likes Received:
    787
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Good to know it worked for you.
     

Share This Page