anybody used ExpressGate??

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by desiibond, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hey Guys,

    If anyone used ExpressGate that is coming with latest mobos, please post some screenshots of the same and please do let us know how good it is and is it worthy to have on mobo.
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's there on my laptop.
    Basically it allows you to boot up to a custom OS within 5 seconds.
    It has the following options:
    - Web browser (custom version of Firefox)
    - Music player
    - Online games
    - IM client (Pidgin)
    - Skype
    You can use photos/music off the HDD or a USB drive

    I can't take screen shots because there is no screen capture utility and anyways it doesn't let you save files while in Express Gate.
     
  3. j1n M@tt

    j1n M@tt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kochi
    ya heard ExpressGate features are cool...but havn't used it yet.
     
  4. adithyagenius

    adithyagenius I WANT MORE FPS!!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Shifted to Hydreabad from Mumbai
    I had it at first. Good to see if there is any virus in USB. But I now have RAID. ExpressGate doesn't support RAID. It also slows down booting by waiting for your response. If you have a very sensitive mouse which might move due to vibrations. Its even worse.
     
  5. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    I am downloading ExpressGate latest version. Will have to try. Its a huge download! 585MB from the Asus website. Will try it out soon. Its a mystery to me as well!
     
  6. j1n M@tt

    j1n M@tt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kochi
    ^^which mobo do u use??
     
  7. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    I have Asus P5Q Pro.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page