1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

8 beeps, No Display Output [Solved - Faulty GPU]

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by thydigit, Feb 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thydigit

    thydigit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello Everyone,
    My PC was randomly shutting down for past 6 days frequently but the random shutdown was there for quite a time. As I use this PC very less for past two years I didn't bothered to diagnose earlier. Today, the system boots and beeps in pattern of - "single beep - then 8 continuous beeps - single beep"
    - No display output, tried DVI (currently using) & VGA too
    - All fans are running, but Graphics card fan ran at very high speed with noise
    - Removed Graphics card, secondary HDD and still the same, no output on DVI or VGA

    As I tried to collect informations similar to this, it is mentioned either GPU or Motherboard. Need your advise whether I can diagnose to find what the actual problem is?

    PC is ~8years old & config is
    Intel core i5 760
    MSI H55M-E33
    1 * 4GB DDR3 1333MHz Transcend
    ASUS EAH5670 1GB
    Corsair CX400W
    CM elite 310
    2 500GB Seagate HDDs

    Thank you in advance.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  2. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,294
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    No video on onboard GPU either? If this is the case, then it seems like kaput motherboard.
     
  3. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    8 beeps may indicate video card/ram failure per online articles,since your processor does not have integrated graphics you need to check with a different graphics card/different ram.
     
    thydigit likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    thydigit

    thydigit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah, no video from onboard too. Tried clearing CMOS and no luck. Boots asusual, as I can access files from other computer with file sharing. :(

    I tried with onboard displays outs and still the same. Will try with different RAM in some time. Will the system boot if RAM is the issue? As mentioned above can access the files via file sharing.
     
  5. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,294
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    You mean your OS is booting?

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
     
  6. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    For processors without integrated graphics there will be no display output from any onboard display out without a graphics card installed(those onboard outputs are there for multiple display setup using graphics card).If your system boots & you can remote login/access the system then your graphics card is gone & you need to buy another one. If ram is the issue then your system wouldn't even boot or will crash within few minutes of booting,in either case it should not affect display.
     
    thydigit likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    thydigit

    thydigit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes
    Oh ok. As the board had VGA, DVI outputs I thought it had integrated graphics and tried using them after removing the graphics card. I will try lend a graphics card to check. If I need to buy new one can you please suggest a suitable GPU.
     
  8. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,294
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    I think you should create a new thread for that.
     
    thydigit likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    thydigit

    thydigit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sure.

    GPU is the culprit. When swapped with another, PC works normally. I will create a new thread for new GPU advice. Thank you all for your time.
     
  10. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    8,775
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NCR
    Ok,will close this thread then.
     
    thydigit likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page