Win XP + SuSE Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

sohummisra

Broken In
Hey wassup.

I recently got the Digit August mag which had SuSE linux 9.1 personal edition on the DVD. now i've been meaning to try out linux for a while, but never really felt like doing it.

so i've finally decided to try it out. hahah. but now i realize that I have no idea what i gotta do. Well I do know that i have to burn the ISO off the CD so I'm gonna do that soon (in like 5 minutes from now).

But I need to partition my hard disk first, and I am not sure that i know how to go about this (although I have done it before). i believe i have to get a partition manager...is this right and if it is, which one do yall recommend? And what do I do after that.

Hhaha well I'm a complete newbie when it comes to linux, I guess, so please do help. Thanks.

S

spykids_666

the NTFS and FAT32 partitions will not work for the linux.
try reading the magazine. it tells abt how to install the linux

OP
S

sohummisra

Broken In
maybe you could elaborate.
by the magazine do you mean the "which linux will work for you" because i've read that about 2-3 times and all it gives are broad instructions.
is there any other distro of linux that would work in that case.

thanks

wORm

Journeyman
Yeah, if you have allocated all of your disk to FAT/NTFS partitions then it can be quite complicated.

OP
S

sohummisra

Broken In
okay so it would be better to buy a new hard-drive and just do the install there?

so basically i risk losing data because it is all over the disk. this is what i am understanding. please tell me if i am wrong.

VD17

Journeyman
i think fdisk can be used for partitioning...
seondly, i ask this one instead of answering, WTF, SuSe WONT WORK ON NTFS OR FAT32???? what file system am i supposed to have to install Linux?

OP
S

sohummisra

Broken In
VD17 said: