Need a gaming rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

royal

Padawan
Hi friends, I would like to build a gaming rig and so need the following info ...

<1> GFX card :-
Suggest a mid range card. 9600GT will be good enough for me. However I could also go for 8800GT but will it be good enough for the extra couple of thousand bucks ? :confused:

<2> LCD :-
I must admit that I am a noob regarding LCDs. Initially I was thinking of going for 19" but maybe 22" will be just right. From what I gathered from the forum, DELL is the brand to go for though Viewsonic, I feel, should also be a strong contender. Please suggest models and prices for what you feel should be good for gaming and movies.

<3> Speaker :-
Initially I was inclined towards X-540. However I have read good reviews of Artis S6600. Has anyone used it personally ? Also if I go for G-51/Z5300 will there be significant boost in listening experience ?

<4> SMPS :-
Suggest any good brand with price :)

<5> Cabinet :-
Suggest any good Indian brand with price :)

That is all for now...hope to see some replies soon :p

hellgate

At Hell's Disq
1>get the 8800GT 512Mb.its worth the xtra 2k.

2>better get DELL or Samsung.

3>cant suggest anything without knowing wat other h/w u hav.also wats ur budget.

quadroplex780

Maximum Fame
I hope this info might be helpful that on the 8600GT and the 9600GT the fan spins down to 30% when temperatures reach 60c and greater so it basically will fry the card if not solved it is a driver issue and nVidia is informed and is working on it.

OP
royal

royal

Padawan
Thx ppl for ur replies...:p

My current rig consists of P4 3Ghz Prescott processor, MSI 915g Neo2 Platinum with inbuilt gfx and Kingston 512 MB 533 Mhz DDR2 RAM along with Navtech cabinet with 450 W PSU.

I am aware that I need to upgrade Processor/ Mobo combi as well but I will do that some time later :(