Looking to learn [ VB ]

Gary M

Broken In
Hi guys, I'm looking to learn the complete basics of Visual Basic Graphic User Interface programming within the timeframe from now up to June.

Is there a guide or something that has worked previously for the people on this forum or any brilliant ones that you know in general.

I'm an intermediate developer with not a lot of time on his hands, so something straight to the point and simplish would be greatly appreciated. Nothing with silly tutorials that take forever to learn either.

Any help at all is welcome, please don't hesitate.

Further questioning is welcome as well.

Thank you in Advanced

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Are you looking for learning VB (i.e. VB6) or VB.NET?

VB6 : Visual Basic Tutorials

VB.NET : VB.Net Tutorial

Try to get the basics first and then move on to creating different things like calculator, invoice management software (like tally) that will help you grab the tricky areas :)

OP
G

Gary M

Broken In
Are you looking for learning VB (i.e. VB6) or VB.NET?

VB6 : Visual Basic Tutorials

VB.NET : VB.Net Tutorial

Try to get the basics first and then move on to creating different things like calculator, invoice management software (like tally) that will help you grab the tricky areas :)

VB.NET .. not VB 6 yet.

I also realized yesterday that I am going to need resources. Anything free and legal that supports the language that you have in mind?

Thank you kirshnandu.

After learning the basics, Look around PSC and SourceForge

Hey uhmm, what is PSC. It's an extremely generic term to google.

As for SourceForge, I know the place. Had not so good experience with codeblocks and Dev C++ when I was learning C++ basics, it went pretty well but Codeblocks was horrible. Dev C++ took some work with getting MingW to work and libraries to be "calibrated" so to speak but it ended up working and became my IDE of choice for a while.