how to install "xmms-1.2.10.tar.gz" on ubuntu ??

great_manish

how is a software installed in linux ??? ...... i have downloaded a file from one of the older digit dvd's....its xmms-1.2.10.tar.gz but m unable to install it.....need a detailed step by step procedure....!

great_manish said:
how is a software installed in linux ??? ...... i have downloaded a file from one of the older digit dvd's....its xmms-1.2.10.tar.gz but m unable to install it.....need a detailed step by step procedure....!
Answer:
*www.thinkdigit.com/forum/showpost.php?p=527417&postcount=92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shashwat Pant
^^ VlC 0.8.6 c is already out :razz: Though awesome,list plz add some Tux stuff better than other 1 that u provide .. A request a good C++ compiler for Ubuntu which except commands from that similar to Borland/Turbo C ver 3.4 :wink:

use synaptic package manager(in menu>System>admin>).it contains all those softwares!digit simply provides source packages for Linux,that is not worth with Ubuntu and other distros which got apt and dpkg and better package management.
Anjuta is a good ide for c/cpp.eclipse is for java etc.again those source packages distributed by digit is a waste without a good package manager which resolves dependecies.that i'd say is a waste that digit carries these source packages.rather they shud provide linux distros in more and BIG softwares for eg;for Ubuntu-Aptoncd etc.
Dont try those source given from digit.its just illogical for eg;how it'll be if u get those .dll files,diffrnt config things etc wholesale to ur hand instead of installshield setup or simply "setup.exe"-the same thing in linux/unix are those gzipped(.gz) or bzipped(.bz2) source files;for eg:ur xmms source!.
So the thing is there are very good package managers which can fetch you and install software without searching internet like in windows.for eg: Debian or Ubuntu have apt and dpkg doing a wonderful job.for redhat/fedora .rpm is there,yum is there etc.
So never try those outdated source and if possible any source packages,get ur package manager works for you! :)
for eg:in GNOME menu after Applications and Places,there is another menu called System which contains administration menu>in which there is synaptic manager.give ur local user password when prompted.
Do read below article very informative for Windows Users too:
*linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm

great_manish

@anant already read that.....nahi samajh mein aaya yaar....bluetooth pairing bhi nahi ho raha hai yaar....should i switch distros.....m using ubuntu 7.04.....howz fedora ??

this is the error m getting

root@manish-laptop:~/Desktop/Linux/xmms-1.2.10# ./configure
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... mawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for prefix by checking for xmms... no
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output... configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
root@manish-laptop:~/Desktop/Linux/xmms-1.2.10#

@great_manish: do read my above post #4
as u said u use Ubuntu,try reading *ubuntuguide.org too.did u tried synaptic manager?(in Menu System>administration>Synaptic)
^^ OR am i wasting my post :?

kushagra_krates@yahoo.com said:
lol i am not able to understand that part of linux ( linux sux ( my view))
yeah.i too say -just a difference Windows/Microsoft instead of Linux line that is!:D;) dont troll here pls!!!

great_manish

@praka123...yeah did that....actually my prob is that i have areally slow net connection(on gprs...cant afford broadband) ....thts y i was using older versions.....

finally was able to install xmms by usin "apt-get install xmms" .... i think it downloaded and installed the latest version of xmms automatically...

yes,it does and most packages are small to install.there are better winamp clones for Linux,remove xmms(upon u ;) ) and apt-get install beep-media-player or go to synaptic manager .
if u have slow connection u can get a thing called AptOnCD for Ubuntu.google for that!
and do have patience to read *ubuntuguide.org and *linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm link.Best of Luck!
^ this link explains u some basic things like Linux is not another Windows or a superior windows,instead it is totally a new operating SYstem!hope u dont take this in a negative sense ;)

@great_manish

u will slowly understand everything in linux.... like u had learnt the ways how windows worked in beginning. Just be patient.

their is no need to switch distros.

anantkhaitan

Burning Bright
@Manish
As mentioned by Prakash earlier avoid compiling from sources, especially for GUI apps.. Go for Binary Packages or Precompiled executables, In your case search for DEB files..Or just use apt-get. As in case of Bluetooth, yaar mere saath bhi hua hai.. Pairing is only problem in Ubuntu, once your mobile get paired up(via any means) you don't have to look back. As for Fedora : It rocks for me. But better now you stay with Ubuntu.. Enable DUN via Datacable (no pairing required :D).
Btwn how you are doing file transfer via Bluetooth. Are you using obexftp??

great_manish

yep....using obexftp....doesnt require pairing.....just installed linux a day back....really excited in exploring it......thanx for all the help n assistance....hopefully in no time i will be just as good as u guys.......;)

Vivek788

yes it seems that most tar.gz dont work for ubuntu right away...that I learnt by trying to install that xmms pack for one full day and ended up installing ubuntu 3 times... :)

dude:
Dont try those source given from digit.its just illogical for eg;how it'll be if u get those .dll files,diffrnt config things etc wholesale to ur hand instead of installshield setup or simply "setup.exe"-the same thing in linux/unix are those gzipped(.gz) or bzipped(.bz2) source files;for eg:ur xmms source!.
So the thing is there are very good package managers which can fetch you and install software without searching internet like in windows.for eg: Debian or Ubuntu have apt and dpkg doing a wonderful job.for redhat/fedora .rpm is there,yum is there etc.
So never try those outdated source and if possible any source packages,get ur package manager works for you!
for eg:in GNOME menu after Applications and Places,there is another menu called System which contains administration menu>in which there is synaptic manager.give ur local user password when prompted.

do not reinstall ubuntu each time!this is not windows :D,we can resolve things,even there is no performance boost if u format and reinstall as in windows xp or vista,because Linux file system seldom gets fragmented(max 12% i think).so ask here ur doubts