How to block a Website adress permanently?

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by ithehappy, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. ithehappy

    ithehappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    I want to block one or more Website's for some security purpose. I will not be in home for some time, thus I won't allow anyone to open those sites. Now is there any software or else by which I can block the addresses of those websites? They shouldn't be opened from any browser, IE, Opera or FF..,Please help me, this is kinda urgent.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. krishnandu.sarkar

    krishnandu.sarkar Simply a DIGITian Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    4,701
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Yup..!! Block them from Firewall. That's all.

    Also use wildcards, to block them if proceed by google search, or proving diff. type of redirection path along with original URL's.
     
  3. OP
    ithehappy

    ithehappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    Sorry but how to do that? I am using NIS 2011.
     
  4. Rajesh345

    Rajesh345 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    You can try block websites with host file

    Try search " block website+host file"
     
  5. OP
    ithehappy

    ithehappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    ^ I still can't figure it out! Isn't there a simple software of something?
     
  6. mrintech

    mrintech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
  8. mrintech

    mrintech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^

    The OP wanted to block websites from *ALL BROWSERS* :)
     
  9. OP
    ithehappy

    ithehappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
  10. Rajesh345

    Rajesh345 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    Step
    1) got to %systemdrive%/windows/system32/drivers/etc

    2) open file named hosts in notepad


    type
    127.0.0.1 Tab key(DOnt manuelly enter space ) Host address /IP


    [​IMG]

    (typo in pic , its IP address or host address
    [​IMG]




    Advanced user can always shutdown firewall /close blocking softwares via task manager and other ways
     
  11. mrintech

    mrintech New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. OP
    ithehappy

    ithehappy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calcutta
    I can't say how much I wanna Thank You.
     
  13. Ada

    Ada New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need to restart the computer if after editing the host file to block websites?
     

Share This Page