Hi,

This is my Desktop Config:

Intel Core2Quad QX6600 2.40 GHz
Asus P5NE SLi
2 X 2GB RAM (Zion)
NVidia GeForce 8600GT (XFX)
250 GB Western Digital HDD
Windows XP SP2

I Believe almost all the components are overclockable.. However, i am a complete newbie to overclocking, and have heard that improper overclocking can damage one's system.
I would like to overclock my CPU, Graphics Card, RAM as well as the Motherboard to the highest safe values. How do i go about it? I would greatly appreciate any information regarding this.. :)

Hrithan2020

In the zone
Well search for tutorials and dont try to volt mod(ie increase the volt supplied to the components since when overclocked they require more power).A 10% overclock is very safe considering u have a good mobo.
But, I believe 6600 can go quite easily to 2.8 Ghz.

For overclocking GFX, dwnld riva tuner & increase the core clocks by 10%.
(Riva tuner is for noobs,better when u do with bios but not sure abt safety)

So,even if u wanna play safe;u can get at least 10% perfomance diff overall.(probably 20-30% possible).
Do remember to change the clock speeds(esp Gpu) to stock when not playing games.So lower power,lower wear n tear.

dOm1naTOr

Wise Old Owl
Zion rams carry hynix chips which cant be oced. So u have to fist underclock ur memory to keep it stable.

@ Hrithan said, riva tuner is good one. But u can do it with the nvidia driver itself. Install ntune and u get the choice of ocing in the driver page itself.

U can safely go 620~640 core and 1500~1550 from 540/1400 stock for the card.

darklord

Cyborg Agent
Zion rams carry hynix chips which cant be oced. So u have to fist underclock ur memory to keep it stable.

@ Hrithan said, riva tuner is good one. But u can do it with the nvidia driver itself. Install ntune and u get the choice of ocing in the driver page itself.

U can safely go 620~640 core and 1500~1550 from 540/1400 stock for the card.