Do ps2 to usb converters really work as expected?

quicky008

Technomancer
I am planning to buy an used tvs gold keyboard from a seller-however the keyboard only has a ps2 interface but the seller claims that it be connected to a usb port easily using a ps2 to usb adapter.I tried searching for such converters online but the ones that are available at sites like amazon don't really have many favourable reviews,with some people saying that they are absolutely worthless and may cause random restarts or other system instability issues.

As i've never used these adapters before i dont really know how reliable they really are and whether they are good for long term usage with ps2 based peripherals or not.Has anyone here ever used these sort of converters for connecting ps2 devices?Do they really work as expected and are there any potential issues that one might face while using such a converter?Please advice.

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
No personal experience but I have seen some old systems running P/S 2-USB adapters for keyboard & mouse.As far as I know most mobos have at least 1 P/S-2 port.I also think that there is some chance that using such adapters may cause some issues on Win 10 systems.Still if a P/S-2 port is present then why buy such an adapter.

OP
quicky008

quicky008

Technomancer
although my system may have a ps2 port i am still rather wary of using a ps2 connector as the pins in them have an inherent tendency of getting bent or damaged if the user mistakenly applies a bit of force while insertion or removal.

bssunilreddy

Chosen of the Omnissiah