BIOS : Loading - slow

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by s18000rpm, Nov 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    For some reason, the BIOS booting/load is taking more than 10 seconds, that is the BIOS screen (for me with "Intel" logo) stays for 10+ seconds.

    a month ago, it used to be max. 3 seconds.



    my PC config.

    P4 (3.06GHz), 512x2 GB DDR2 RAM
    m/b- Intel dg965WH
    BIOS - Intel Corp.
    version - MQ96510J.86A.1687.2007.0510.0258
    (info from cpu-z)

    there's a BIOS update available, but as i'm on dial-up , cant d/l it. :oops:
     
  2. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    It may be due to 56k modem/lan card/sound card or soem PCI devices or the system isn't abtl to share the driver IRQs efficiently. Try setting the h/w resource manually.
    And also try changing the PCI slot of ur PCI devices.
     
  3. Harvik780

    Harvik780 ToTheBeatOfUrHeart

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston,Newyork
    Check the bios settings and enable "Quick boot" if available.Also if you don't want the Intel Logo just turn it off.If the problem still persists load fail safe defaults,and if it does not help reset the Bios.

    Last disconnect after uninstalling any new hardware if you installed it recently and try to boot and see if the problem is solved.
     
  4. OP
    s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hmm.

    i guess the PCI- 56k modem is the problem, when i was in b'lore i didnt hav this modem installed (as i was on BSNL UL900).

    how to set the h/w resource manually.

    & this modem is not getting auto-deteced by XP anymore (even after fersh XP install).
    it used to, but only twice (i tried to install xp drivers, but it failed).

    now i found the drivers, so i'm able to use the modem.
     
  5. Harvik780

    Harvik780 ToTheBeatOfUrHeart

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston,Newyork
    Try to install the modem on another PCI slot and see if it helps.
    Setting hardware resources manually through Bios is really for much more advanced users and can cause serious problems if you mess up.
     
  6. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    First try changing the PCI slot of da modem. Me too is not very gud @ things like h/w IRQs. I once trued trial n error nd it did work greatly:p
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  7. OP
    s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    ok, wil try installig in other slot.
     
  8. shady_inc

    shady_inc Pee into the Wind...

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    In my BIOS,there is an option for "Quick/Enhanced Hardware Check".When Quick is selected the Bios screen stays for about 1-2 secs. Under "Enhanced"
    check,it takes about 30-40 secs to load.Check out some similiar setting in your BIOS.Someone must have inadvertendly changed it.
     
  9. Lucky_star

    Lucky_star Still Shining!

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Up 'n' above
    Simply resetting the BIOS battery, had once saved my problem of slow bios startup.
     
  10. Faun

    Faun Wahahaha~! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,912
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune/there
    load optimal settings

    It happens due to hardware, in my case dying HDD caused screen to remain for 10-20 seconds
     
  11. OP
    s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    this time i re-seated the power cables (on m/b) & re-seated the Modem (again) & re-inserted the pen-drives.

    now the slow loading BIOS prblm. has gone :D

    thanks guys
     
  12. lavi87

    lavi87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did this slow bios problem happened when u updated your bios to 1713 ??
     
  13. OP
    s18000rpm

    s18000rpm ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i havent updated the BIOS yet.

    using version - MQ96510J.86A.1687.2007.0510.0258
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page