Advise on buying a new Hard Drive.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott274

Broken In
My 4 year old 80GB samsung harddisk was slowly going bad. After asking a lot on the net I have almost decided on buying a Seagate IDE harddisk as it was most recommended. Went to my nearest departmental stores PC shop and they told me a Seagate IDE 250GB Harddisk will come for Rs.3100/- and Seagate IDE 160GB will come for Rs.2575/- both with 3 years warrenty. Can somebody confirm these current rates and warrenty period. I am asking because they are a lot high than what I expected.

I live in mumbai by the way. Any more advise on this topic will be certainly appreciated as I am new to buying hard drive :)

desiibond

Bond, Desi Bond!
Dude. that price is very high

You get a 500Gb seagate or 640Gb Western Digital HDD for 3.5k

You better get the HDD from a location in your city where that has most h/w dealers

like Nehru place in Delhi, SP Road in Blore.

OP
Scott274

Scott274

Broken In
ok..I bought my 160Gb Seagate Sata hard disc for 1850/- including VAT yesterday from Arihant, kolkata.

WOW 160GB for just Rs.1850 What was the warrenty given.

Any mumbai guys can please advise me where to buy hard disk in mumbai because that departmental shop in dadar seems to be quoting very high price.

desiibond

Bond, Desi Bond!
^^ Lamington Road

The warranty will be the same unless you are cheated by giving second hand product :)

rhitwick

Democracy is a myth
He's asking for IDE, and they are in the higher price range now, as very less demand.

The 500GB price mentioned might b for SATA:rolleyes:?

OP
Scott274

Scott274

Broken In
He's asking for IDE, and they are in the higher price range now, as very less demand.

The 500GB price mentioned might b for SATA:rolleyes:?

OH! I didn't think about that. Can anybody please find out the rates for Seagate IDE 250GB or 160GB.