• Others( Mention)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scorpion

Journeyman
well,
Like before, I once again am seriously considering to enter the world of tux, but I am drenched by all these flavours of linux, which one suits me ?

I am not a geek- right now, but am planning to be.
I haven't got any office work for I am a medical student.
May be a few games and some programming experiments as a hobby apart from movies and music- yeah! I want to use it as my entertainment and experiment boxbox . I am not particular about user friendly environment within tolerable limits. No commercials like Suse.
Suggest me.

P.S:- Moderators pls excuse if I have to post it in the other- open source category, but any way it's a question for every one.

it_waaznt_me

Coming back to life ..
The first I installed was RH7 .. Screwed my partition table .. Didnt supported my hardware (Most of it ) ..I removed it within a week for good time's sake .. I hate RH since then ...:D ...

[Edit] Eek .. I thought this was a poll asking which was your first GNU distro ...

Well ..For newbies I consider Knoppix is a good option ..After it .. Suse of course ...

theKonqueror

CCIE# 20863
it_waaznt_me said:
... Screwed my partition table ..
... I hate RH since then ...

Hey!!!! All tuxes give u a warning b4 writing 2 mbr and part table... (even RH 4 and below too). U shuld b careful while installation instead of blaming it to RH.

B.T.W, today, Red Hat has the widest HW support and is most widely used, stable and good distro. Even Mandrake is also a ripped from RH source codes, if u dont know.... Also, Red Hat Certification is considered as top certificatoin worldwide 4 linux. U shuld take a look @ latest fedora cores that RH offers.

djmykey

Let the music play.....