How Much Internet Speed Can I get in Mumbai ?

augustya

Journeyman
Hi Guys,

So right now I am at Home using the Hathway Unlimited Broadband Connection which offers me 2MBPS Unlimited Data at 1100/- for 3 Months. I have been using this Plan now since last 10 Years. I am reasonably happy with their Customer Support and Service. But people have been now pointing me out that 2MBPS even though it is unlimited Data is some 20 Years Old Technology and Speed that you are using. Why are you not looking around and you may find definitely with some higher speed transfers, But 2 MBPS is like Way...way too in the Old Days !! I am in Ghatkopar-Mumbai. What options do I have in Mumbai in terms of speed and service provider ? which is the best service provider with reliable Speed ? In Today's time what is the basic Minimum Speed of the Internet people should be looking at. Yes I am a heavy user, Torrent, YouTube, Downloading etc...So I am not comfortable with a Data Cap Plan and at the same time I do not want to go for an expensive plan !!

Any suggestions ?

whitestar_999

Super Moderator
Staff member
First of all,2mbps & 2MBPS(or MB/s) are technically different terms.2mbps is connection speed & 2MB/s is the download speed as shown by programs in windows.Divide connection speed by 8 to get approx download speed.For a 2mbps connection download speed would be ~240-250KB/s while for 2MB/s download speed,connection speed would have to be 16mbps. For a typical user nowadays 8mbps+ connection speed is fine. For 4K videos recommended connection speed is ~25mbps+.

nac

Aspiring Novelist
I am hoping it's 2MB/s. If it's 2mbps 1100/- for 3 months is expensive than BSNL base plan and it's slower than BSNL.

OP
A

augustya

Journeyman
So my question on what choices do I have in terms of which Service Provider do I have and what best speed can I get ? in people asking me again, when I have clearly mentioned it is 2MBPS speed that I have currently !!

whitestar_999

Super Moderator