ZoneAlarm updates ! ! !

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ax3, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    for user of zonealarm, do u update it ???


    as in software or definitions update ...
     
  2. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    u need to update the whole sw for ZA. Thats onething i dont like in em :?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ax3

    ax3 Cool as a CUCUMBAR ! ! !

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,388
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    will do that ! ! !
     
  4. invisible

    invisible Guest

    Not required man.

    It will automatically update definitons daily just like any otehr antivirus.

    But if u update the whole software to a newer version then u will get much better security Just like upgrading whole Norton 2003 to Norton 2006. :twisted:
     
  5. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    I have been using ZA for quite some time now. Once there is a new version, you will be notified of it (ie. if ZA is configured like that) and then you have to download the whole program. And this happens only once in a long while.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  6. invisible

    invisible Guest

    I have been using ZA for quite some time now. Once there is a new version, you will be notified of it (ie. if ZA is configured like that) and then you may download it or you may continue with the current version. And this happens only once in a long while.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  7. shovik

    shovik Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hooghly
    Zone Alarm updates by itself to the latest version which is available. I have been using the Zone Alarm Pro for quite sometime and when combined with Norton Antivirus 2006, it provides one of the best security solutions one can get.

    Try it out......
     
  8. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    May be it is so in case of ZA Pro, but I think we were talking about the ordinary ZA.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  9. piyush gupta

    piyush gupta New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    never land
    DO it provides Intelligent Updater like Norton

    with live updates
    if yes link PLZ
     
  10. Techie_Geek

    Techie_Geek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Before a PC of course!!!
    Use ZA Pro, there's automatic update for spyware protection, whenever there's a new version it informs u and if pemitted automatically7 downloads and installs the newest version.

    There is also ZA Pro Suite which include ZA's full featured antivirus with automatic updates too

    I use NAV2005 with ZA Pro 6.0.6
     
  11. invisible

    invisible Guest

    Man just use ZA antivirus + firewall .It will provide the best reliable security.NAV sucks man.Even though many people buy NAV but it sucks actually.
     
  12. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    Required, very much required. If a new version is out it will notify u and u need to download. If at all its downloaded automatically, u need to install it and its not like AV database u need to download the complete new version.
     
  13. Generic Superhero

    Generic Superhero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    No automatic update in ZA Pro

    I use ZA Pro. It does nt update by itself, it can only check for updates and lead u to the d/l page of ZA site.

    It notifies me once there is an update available which I then have to d/l and install. This happens once in a long while.
     
  14. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I have been using Zonealarm for more than 5 years now.
    It is the best firewall I have ever seen.
    I use it with Trend Micro Pc-cillin 2002 (old, but free cos I have OEM version) & they both together satisfy more than my needs.
    They provide security more than most of my friends PC's who have NAV & other antiviruses & firewalls installed.
     
  15. invisible

    invisible Guest

    trend micro2002 is also good :p
    NAV sucks

    @ VIrus
    Its not necessary to downlaod the update.U may continue the current version.
     
  16. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    generally taking anti-spy and anti-svirus updates are ok.
    but u must atleast update the full (for firewall) upadate atleast every alternate times, in my opinion.
    i use zass and do say that i take ALL updates as soon as they r avlbl.
     
  17. __Virus__

    __Virus__ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    You got me wrong. Dood, I dint say downloading the update is MUST. I was pointing out that there will be no firewall defination files for ZA as for Antiviruses as someone was pointing out :) . Now I have a question, why is it not necessary to update?
     
  18. g_goyal2000

    g_goyal2000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Good question.
     
  19. invisible

    invisible Guest

    It is your wish .It is actually necessary to update to the latest version for better protection.But u may skip it if u are not craving for deep protection.Its always good to update to the latest.But u must also remember these points

    1)The latest versions of Zonealram are always buggy and causes system hangs and otehr sh!t.
    2)The latest versions take very high resources.SO if u are having a fast computer then its ok but for others its untolerable.

    Still im running the ZA5.94 antivirus version and its very much stable and not high on system resources unlike the latest ZA6.73 crap
     
  20. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Though have been using ZA for last 2 years or so..lately I installed Agnitum Outpost on Server2003. I find Agnitum more easy to use and has much thoughtful interface.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page