Yahoo.msngr Problem???

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by saROMan, Nov 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    from last 3 days i am facing strange problem..when ever i login in to my YMsngr......after 2/3 sec it disconnects and again connnects....this time it gives me error that you have been signed off because u signed in on a different computer or device..... :?: :?: :?:

    well i logged in yahoo thru my browser..and changed the PWD there.......
    but still no use.....i cant use Ymsngr..any more..though i cant use yahoo thru Browser........have i been hacked?????.......plz help..... :cry:
     
  2. ramank

    ramank New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    I think this happens if you had logged in using another IM client.
    Try logging out from other IM clients and then log in using a single client
     
  3. lamrinnirmal

    lamrinnirmal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /bin/sh
    i always have msn and yahoo running together .

    have you configured a hand held device eg mobile with yahoo messenger in which case i assume you log into both at the same time. only one device can log into yahoo. alternatively , if thats not the case , just get the latest messenger. its hard to hack into a yahoo account. that , im sure , is not the case.
     
  4. nixcraft

    nixcraft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BIOS
    visit login.yahoo.com and login and logout this will solve your problem :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    saROMan

    saROMan QA Juggler

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    format c: /s/u/x
    well i dont have a handheld device..nither i have any other IM.......all my other Logins...at yahoo work file except this 1.....i have tryed loggin using Trillian..and it works fine.....but thru YMSNGr ...nops.....i cant ..plz tell me what to do ... :(
     
  6. go4inet

    go4inet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    try posting to Yahoo! team, they are fast in help !
     
  7. Aseem Nasnodkar

    Aseem Nasnodkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panaji - Goa
    just download the latest yahoo... the 1 on digit. things will b better
     
  8. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    this is quite common with yahoo ..
    it happens quite a bit of with me ..
    but obviously .. not after 2/3 secs after i login
    this problem started appearing after my college lan was firewalled

    i think yahoo pager is not able to contact to net properly ..
    firewall or may be software problem ..
     
  9. prakashaka

    prakashaka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangalore
    jus change the password of ur corrent yahoo.. i think it'll fix ur problem
     
  10. SmoothCriminal

    SmoothCriminal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Hmm.. Well mate.. are u using XP?.. i guess u r probably usinf more than 1 login.. and without logging-out of one id, u login into ohter ID using 'Switch User'...

    If u've done this, log-off from the other login & then do.. Coz wat hapenn is when u login in the current login, a simultaneous login also takes place in the other login..
     
  11. Minimalistix

    Minimalistix I'm back!

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Maharashtra
    Try These for a Fix!

    Follow these steps in the given sequence:
    -- Fix1 --
    1. With nothing even remotely related to Yahoo! (like YMessenger, Trillian, other Yahoo services like Yahoo! Greetings etc.) sign in to Yahoo! Mail using the "ID" you are having problem with through your browser. Then Sign Out and then Sign Out Completely.
    2. Now try your YMessenger with the same "ID" and see if that works.


    If Not, Do this for all the browsers that you might have used to access Yahoo! services:
    -- Fix2 --
    1. Clear your Internet Cache. For IE go to Tools >Internet Options > Delete Files > Check "Delete all Offline content" > OK.
    2. Clear all your Cookies. For IE go to Tools >Internet Options > Delete Cookies.
    3. Now go to <DRIVE>:\Documents and Settings\<USERNAME>\Cookies
    where DRIVE is where you have your Win XP installed and USERNAME is the username you are logged in with.
    4. Delete all the files including the Cookies (*.txt) there. NOTE: You will not be able to delete index.dat. Leave it as it is!
    5. Now run Disk Cleanup from Accessories > System Tools and cleanup everything it suggests you to. NOTE: These files are completely save to remove off your system. In any case, at least delete all Temporary Files.
    6. Now manually try to delete all the files present in DRIVE:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Local Settings\Temp. If you can't delete some files leave them and delete all others you can.

    Now try your YMessenger with the same "ID".
    In all probability, everything should work out fine.

    If you still face the same problem, don't loose hope and try this:
    -- Fix 3 --
    1. Try to log into YMessenger using a "Different ID".
    If the things repeat themselves and you get logged off immediately then it all points to the fact that you have some problem with your internet connection. Unfortunately, I can't help in here unless I get to know your OS environment better. Anyways, Please check your connection settings, shut down any firewall and if you use a proxy check that it's working fine.
    However, all this is very unlikely to happen as you mentioned that you do get connected using Triliian which I suppose is using the same internet settings. Please, check that.
    2. If the "Different ID" does work, Sign Out and close YMessenger.
    3. Now go to DRIVE:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger. Now if you use an older version of YMessenger that allows you to save any offline messages then Rename "StoredIM" to something like "~StoredIM".
    4. Now go to DRIVE:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\profiles\ID\Archive and Rename "Messages" to "~Messages" where ID is the ID you are having trouble signing in with.
    5. Now, check if you can login using YMessenger via ID successfully.
    If you do, then someone had sent you a "boot code" that caused you all this trouble.
    6. To fix this, first determine which folder "StoredIM" or "Messages" is causing you the pain and copy that folder in the same directory using right-click press -> drag -> drop -> select "copy here".
    7. Rename the two folders to the names they originally had and delete all the files present in the folder causing the trouble.
    8. Now if "StoredIM" was causing the problem move one Offline Message (*.hst) at a time back from "Copy of ~StoredIM", or If "Messages" was causing the problem move one Message Folders at a time back from "Copy of ~Messages".
    9. Now try to Connect your YMessenger to check if it's causing the trouble.
    10. If Yes, delete it and repeat the process.

    I hope this should surely help you.
    Do let me know if it does or does not...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page