Xp restart when connected to internet

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by vijaythefool, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijaythefool

    vijaythefool New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ..:::In Beautiful Hearts:::....
    what can i do to solve this this displays a message that some crap nt ......
    and windows will now restart and a count down begins....
     
  2. drgrudge

    drgrudge Another Brick in the Wall

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai/Chennai
    man that is the rpc virus. i guess u have not put sp2 in XP, correct?
    ok u need to remove it, it is a blaster virus. temp removal can b done, gone to control panel and in the advance setting put restarting option off, and that it . now, put the blaster patch.

    dude u r done now, hope i have cleared ur problem! even i got this problem, and now it is done.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    vijaythefool

    vijaythefool New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ..:::In Beautiful Hearts:::....
    wht is sp2 ?
     
  4. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Please post your HijackThis Logfile for better assesment of your problem.
     
  5. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    msblast or its big-b :shock: , install the service pack 2 or install the ms blast patch from xp site
     
  6. #/bin/sh

    #/bin/sh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    42.65 N 73.76 W
    msblaster or sasser,

    let me know what happens?
     
  7. techie_it

    techie_it New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rite Here !!!!
    Yeah its the RPC Message with 1 minute CountDown for Shut Down ....With Sp1 , it does not get patched, Install Sp2 or DownLoad The Patch from Windows Update Site ....
     
  8. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Please install Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2). A service pack is a collection of all updates, security hotfixes, plus new features, all bundled into a single package. So its like your are upgrading your OS to a newer, better, faster, and more secure version.

    SP2 is around 266 MB, and its available for downloading from the microsof site. A smaller version is also available on Windows Update. But if you are on dialup, you might want to either order the SP2 CD (free of cost), or get it from last month's (september) Digit issue.

    Btw, you do not have a choice, I mean, SP2 its not just any program that you may wish to install or not. It is a recommend install, meaning which all XP users MUST install SP2, for your own good...


    [​IMG]
     
  9. BharatPremi

    BharatPremi New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem but when scanned with a bootable antivirus cd, it detected and removed the worm. It was Sasser in my case
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page