1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

xp pro sp2

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by mariner, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    i recently installed xp pro with sp2 slipstreamed .]
    [​IMG]

    but i have been receiving msgs frm microsoft thru auto update that sp2 needs to be installed .

    [​IMG]

    now why is that ??
     
  2. leech

    leech New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What you have there is still a build

    Service Pack 2, v 2149.

    When the full version for consumer releases by 16th Sep. you will only see Service pack 2.

    Since it is downloading some of the updates it will show SP2. I think you will just need 75 MB more to download. I suggest just wait till the full comsumer release comes out
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    what about the sp2 in september issue ? should i install that or wait till the 16th of september?
     
  4. Hey ! leech, is XP SP2 in the Sep. issue of digit full or it is justa build ???
     
  5. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    if the cd says rc anywhere then its just a build ...
    the final release of sp2 is build 2600
    and the final is very much out ...
     
  6. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    yes i have the xp2 loaded on my machine (and on 20 machines in our lab) i got the cd from microsoft. it is good and till now i have had only one problem this was that when we had enabled zone alarm to auto load at boot time there seemed that a type of deadlock occured and the pc would hang once we removed zone alarm from autoload the machines are working perfectly.
     
  7. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    probably zonealarm 5.09.045
    theres an issue with sp2
    upgrade .. should be fine
     
  8. cthulhu

    cthulhu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CD from Microsoft! Do they give it by courrier??
     
  9. pradeep_chauhan

    pradeep_chauhan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    yes just call there office (and be polite... goodmorning mam .....student....please........help.........thany you .......gratefull....)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
    well cthulhu they do send it to u by courier and free of cost . i just send my request today. wait i will search for that link and post again.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    mariner

    mariner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumbai
  12. cthulhu

    cthulhu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks m8s
     
  13. cthulhu

    cthulhu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they don't call u or show up at your doorsteps, do they?
     
  14. JAK

    JAK What the Heck !

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ask Me !
    Nope..

    I had ordered the Sp1 CD from Microsoft...(I got 2 CDs in the pouch..1 is SP1 n updates and the other was some stupid antivirus n firewall)

    I hav already ordered the SP2 CD and waitin for it...
     
  15. zenblue

    zenblue New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does one need to have a legal copy of xp to order sp2 CD??
     
  16. not sure cause i ordered a cd and they sent it for free and i'm usin' Windows XP -- Pirated -- with xp sp2 Final
     
  17. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    u can order the cd ..
    but u need to have a legal copy to update it to sp2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page