WMP 11 again....

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by titun, Jun 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. titun

    titun Guest

    I know this topic has been discussed earlier but I did not got my answer there. I downloaded and installed Windows Media Player 11 from Microsoft website and first time it installed without asking any validation check. In fact I did not knew there was a WGA validation check. Eventually I formated my PC and installed WMP 11 again. This time it asked for WGA. My OS ( XP SP 2 ) not being a genuine one I searched for other methods to install and found my answer below.

    http://forum.deviantart.com/software/general/640782/

    But my question is
    1) Why it did not ask for WGA in the first place as both the time my computer setting was completely same, modem activated. This was the same with IE 7 also, it did not ask for a validation for the first time but once unstalling and reinstalling it asked for validation ( though I found other method to install IE 7 ;) )

    2) I am able to install WMP 11 bypassing WGA but is it possible to bypass URGE also because I don't need this service and everytime I start WMP it tries to download URGE software n services.

    I know this kind of question is not allowed and answered here, but leaving piracy issue aside I want to know it for my knowledge. So mods feel free to delete if I am crossing the limit.
     
  2. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    D/ling URGE is optional, it ask you y/n while installing...

    And about WGA... if you have passed the WGA online (thro browser and activex) then it wont ask you while installing...
     
  3. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See just get a legal copy of windows and everything will be done coz cracking software locks is illeagal.....
     
  4. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    titun, you are NOT supposed to provide links to pages where it has been described how to crack software to use it illegally.
     
  5. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    at the time of installation it did asked for deselect the urge option... but i u dont have such option... simply DC the internet, it will try to download for few seconds (25 - 30), then will continue the installtion without urge...

    about WGA, yup, WMP 11 is not checking that right now, may be future version will check...

    ...
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2006
  6. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    It DOES check even now. If it did not check when you installed it, either it was an error or you have some cracked version.

    What is URGE, by the way?
     
  7. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    nope still not checking... i mean no visual is displayed about checking, and it is getting installed in systems which dont have Internet....

    well download came from download.microsoft.com... so umm very little chance of a cracked version... unless microsft is providing a crack version... ;)
     
  8. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    URGE is an online store to purchase music that is associated with WMP11 if u want to.
     
  9. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Well, it is supposed to. I myself downloaded it from Microsoft's site and it validated my Windows everytime I ran the setup. Dunno why it isn't checking in your case.

    Thanks for the info, Rollercoaster!
     
  10. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    even i had same authentication prblem but i shud be havin a legal copy of windows...or my vendor has an illegal one?

    cheers
     
  11. Choto Cheeta

    Choto Cheeta Rebooting

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,202
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    220.225.82.33
    strange very strange... validation is an online factor... and i saw WMP 11 getting installed in computer which doesnt have internet access.... one thing though... all the systems that i tried upon are all volume licensed... is that the factor?? :?

    i have not tried over any cracked system...

    anyway can any one post the screenshot about the validating window of WMP 11 installtion... :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page