Wmp 10 over 11?

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by speedyguy, Jun 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    i downloaded n tried to install wmp 11 over my previous wmp9...i failed to do so as my xp sp2 cudnt authenticate....

    now,
    1stly, my vendor claims hes installed legal copy of xp but its still not authenticating...is he fooling me or is wmp11 fooling me...

    2ndly, since i failed to install wmp11...i downloaded wmp10 but its sayin i already have a newer version of media player....but theres nuttin...may wmp11 has left its registry or somwthin...can ne1 tell me how to get rid of that bad installation of wmp11...coz currently i dun have any wmp...

    cheers
     
  2. manas

    manas Wandering in the zone ...

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    First thing,your XP must be illegal else WMP11 would have installed smoothly.
    Secondly,you can try System Restore to get back your WMP10.
     
  3. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    for confermation try at microsoft.com search for 'how to tell' in search box.if it tells iilegal then is iilegal
     
  4. Keith Sebastian

    Keith Sebastian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    If you're "vendor" had installed a legal copy, you would have the CD+Manual with the shiny Microsoft certificate stuck on it sitting somewhere in your home.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    no nothin like dat....i dun have anythin wit me, my vendor didnt gave me any...newez ive figured out mine is illegal...but really cant help it...

    thanx guys
    cheers!
     
  6. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, if he charged you for the original just report him if he doesnt comply on cash-back... and whats more, you will get a cheap license from MS by doing so :)
     
  7. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does not matter if the vendor has a legal copy of windows.....

    U should have one with the lisence....

    So u cannot install WMP 11.....
     
  8. hermit

    hermit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can u believe i have 2 copies of xp pro (Licensed) , one xp home licensed ,98 oem .

    i fell lucky as i got all for free as gifts .
     
  9. Official Techie

    Official Techie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in motherboard
    you can try validating ur pc go to microsoft.com and download a plugin if that can help i m not sure
     
  10. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    ya thats chargable at microsoft.com ...somewere round 6500 bux.... my vendor never gave me any cover, license etc. wit pc....he had my os pre-installed b4 delivering my system... it wasnt licensed to me i guess

    cheers
     
  11. thetopcyborg

    thetopcyborg New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JUST SUE UR VENDOR....





    k, i know it doesn't happen much in India but u cud try talking to ur vendor in giving u an original Windows.....
    but still, DID HE CHARGE U? if he didn't then u have no right to tell nething to him as free sware is mostly pirated and this is wwindows xp so it sure will be pirated if it is free
     
  12. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    thats d point...he didnt charged me anythin for it...he said he wl supply d system wit s/w installed for free....

    cheers
     
  13. titun

    titun Guest

    I think u started d thread to ask how to install WMP 11. If you still have not done that I know the other way ;) to help you. Buzz me at enable_gui@yahoo.com
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page