1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Windows XP(Internet)problem?Windows'll restart within 15 Sec

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by imprince, Dec 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    im using windows Xp ...

    using dial up connection to connect it to the net.

    when i connected it to the net after sometime it gives me the messege<<< ur windows will restart after 15 sec... with countdown timer... and after 15 min. my system gets restart ..
    what should i do now... plz tell me da solution .. if there any patch on net plz give me tha link ....

    No to SP2
     
  2. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Installing Sp2 is hihgly recommended

    i tried patching for this msblast but it doesnt work everytime for some freakin reasons

    so the permanent solution wod b to install sp2 and have the windows firewall on.

    Well if u want to continue with the worm and do ur work with Windows XP itself then stop the countdown timer by


    Start>Run>cmd
    shutdown -a
     
  3. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    i hav tried once to install SP2 ,, But i said that serial key is't matchin :twisted: g

    what should i do now
     
  4. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    thats y LINUX IS BEST :evil:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    thnx dear ur crack is working !!! tnx for tip :wink: :p
     
  6. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    always welcome :wink:
     
  7. nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    you're computer is infected with the sasser virus. download the patch for it from the microsoft site.
     
  8. nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    jus type sasser virus patch in google and you'll find your way from there.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    imprince

    imprince New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ludhiana
    Re: hi

    Is it right It is a problem of Virus :oops: PLZ LOOK :arrow: :arrow: I got the following Discusion from PCQUEST FORUM ... PLZ read it very Carefuly and tell me what do think....

    sujay_vs wrote:
    This has nothing to do with piracy. It's a stupid flaw in the RPC service. Follow the below steps and get rid of it permanently:

    1) Boot into XP, but do not connect to any network (LAN or Internet).

    2) Start > Run. Type "services.msc" and press enter.

    3) On the right-hand list, scroll down to "Remote Procedure Call (RPC)".

    4) Click the "Recovery" tab on top.

    5) Set all 3 of "First failure", "Second failure" and "Subsequent failures" to "Restart the Service".
    -- since you're getting the shutdown thing, these would currently be set to "Restart the Computer", right?

    6) Click OK and reboot your PC.

    Now you can do whatever you like. That box will not appear (for the same reason) again.

    but i can't get rid from that problem .....
    and my reply to that of my friend is

    My Friends after doing this i got that msg 2 time ......

    shutdown -a is da only solution for me at that time ............ what should i do now

    now can u tell me what should i do now
     
  10. nix

    nix Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    hi

    i dont know for sure if its a virus prob. but still , install the patch for the virus.. nothing wrong in it. also try windows update.
    i too had a similar mesage whnever i used to connect to the net. the only difference is taht it used to restart in 50 secs. i downloaded the blaster and sasser patches and the problem solved. :)
     
  11. [digitt]

    [digitt] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    possibly thats sasser...
    go to task manager search for a process aveserve.exe or avserve1 or 2, also look for any process which is stating wid a number and ending wid _up.exe lik 1234_up.exe..., or netsky.exe
    end task these and also search and delete them.....
    disable system restore
    go to start run type shutdown -a ...
    connect to the internet
    go to www.microsoft.com/downloads and download the patch and removal tool for sasser
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page