Windows media player not playing sound!!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by abhi_shake, Dec 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abhi_shake

    abhi_shake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Andromeda
    I have no idea why this is happening but its only window media player which is not playing sound. Even when I open a video file it plays the video and shows the sound playing graph in the bottom tab, but no sound comes out from the speakers.
    I played the same file in Nero Showtime and the sound was coming properly.
    Help!!
     
  2. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    is the problem with particular video or all video and audio files have no sound in WMP???
     
  3. Kiran.dks

    Kiran.dks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, India
    Go to:
    > Tools>Options
    > Devices tab
    > Select> Speakers and click Properties
    > In the Speaker Properties menu..
    > Sound playback> It should be 'Default Directsound device'.
    Refer the snap-shot...

    [​IMG]
     
  4. OP
    OP
    abhi_shake

    abhi_shake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Andromeda
    @kiran :- will try... the problems in my laptop and i don't have it right now, so will tell u afterwards if it worked or not.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    abhi_shake

    abhi_shake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Andromeda
    nope... not working still no sound!!

    all video and sound files have the same problem
     
  6. Kiran.dks

    Kiran.dks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, India
    Did you try Winamp or any other program to open the same sound file? Can you hear sound in this case?
     
  7. prasad_den

    prasad_den New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The new cherry..!!
    Do you get any error messages? Play an audio file and find out if you see any error message. Also, have you installed any soundcard, or any other application related to sound in the recent past?
     
  8. shantanu

    shantanu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,784
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    there is no codec problem for sure as you are playing sounds in NERO SHOWTIME so can be a error of WMPLAYER check for reinstallations and device settings in options as in pic
     
  9. OP
    OP
    abhi_shake

    abhi_shake New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Andromeda
    i can hear sound in every software except Windows Media Player.

    @shantanu - could you clarify by what you mean reinstallations anddevice settings?
     
  10. Lucky_star

    Lucky_star Still Shining!

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Up 'n' above
    Re install windows media player 10, or even better upgrade to WMP 11.
     
  11. Kiran.dks

    Kiran.dks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune, India
  12. abhijangda

    abhijangda New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your hearts
    Reinstall your Windows Media Player. If you don't have set up of WMP then Go to Control Panel then Add/Remove Programs. Then Go to Add/Remove Windows Component. Find Window Media then uncheck it then click Next. WMP will be uninstall. To reinstall follow the same procedure but instead of unchecking you must check hte option. It should work. Note: This is for Windows XP only if you have WMP 10 or 11 then they will uninstalled and WMP 8 or WMP 9 will be installed. You can ask many things from me about Softwares and Hardware as my friend and my family says me Computer Engineer (not joking).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page