Windows installation and Visual Studio Compatibility

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by deepak.krishnan, Jan 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deepak.krishnan

    deepak.krishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad/Bangalore
    Hello friends
    I would like to know if it is saft to install Windows 98 on a system running on Windows XP.

    Also I would like to know if Windows XP supports Visual Studio 6 or not. Because when I run a form containing any options from components such as a web control, or a form containing any text fields with password charactes, I get a message saying that VB has encountered an error it has to stop.So please help me out.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running Visual studio 6 on WinXP without any issue since last 2 years. Did u install the service packs??
     
  3. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    you can install Win 98 on computer containing Win XP as long as they're in separate partitions. AFAIK, Win XP supports VB6, I had installed it and had no problems with it. Maybe VB 6 wasn't installed properly , try installing it again. Or maybe your medium maybe corrupt.
     
  4. ghemant

    ghemant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surat,Gujarat,INDIA
    Hi,
    true you can have both but do remember that your windows xp shoud be on FAT32 partition.


    :)
    Regards
     
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Have you installed Visual Studio.net on the same drive? I have heard that if VB.net and VB 6 are installed on same drive it can cause problems.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    deepak.krishnan

    deepak.krishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad/Bangalore
    Hi friends,
    I had lookedinto wut you all had advised but to no result. I have tried reinstalling Visual Studio 6 fro the 6th time and still I did not get any result out of it. I heard from a friend that VS needs a file to run which is present only in Windows 98.Is that true?

    Pooja didi I think you might have upgraded your OS from windows 98 to windows XP because while upgrading Windows keeps the files which are amongst sharing ones.
    I installed XP on my formatted computer as a new installation.So can you suggest any other fixes for the problem?
     
  7. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    There should be no problem in installing and using VS6 on XP.

    I hv also used it in my XP w/o ne problem!

    The only thing which I can suggest u is, u can try to install Java Virtual Machine (which u can find in \IE4\MSJAVX86.EXE).

    May be it can solve ur problem!
     
  8. ghemant

    ghemant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surat,Gujarat,INDIA
    Hi,
    we have one system in our network with Win98 and VB6 more than 3 years and their's no prob running VB6 and VS .NET to gether on same system ,same partion,same os ...but you must ensure that you have installed all the current patches and sps
     
  9. OP
    OP
    deepak.krishnan

    deepak.krishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad/Bangalore
    Thanks for those tips.But I did not understand wut the Java Virtual Machne has to do with VS 6.Can you please tell me?
    Also I would like to inform that I had both XP and windows 98 before I formatted my computer.Then VS 6 was running smoothly.But when I formatted it it stopped working even after constant reinstallations.
    I think installing Windows 98 in my present system with XP.Is it? I think it wont cause any problems.

    So please help me...........
     
  10. ghemant

    ghemant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Surat,Gujarat,INDIA
    Hi,
    as said above it wont create any problem Windows 98 and Windows XP could be their on the same system and can be on same partition , it wont hurt . well JVM create Virtual Environment to run porogramms that requires Java Liberaries .
    would u elabroate few more :

    What is Drive formated with .?
    if your windows 98 is formated with FAT32 and if your Windows XP is formated with NTFS then your Windows 98 will not see Windows XP Partition.


    Regards
     
  11. raval_manoj

    raval_manoj New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangrol (Gujarat)
    VB6 Problem

    Install Visual Studio6 service pack 5 or 6 and then try.
    If you are using VC++ also then install Service Pack 6 otherwise go for
    service pack 5. I hope this'll help you.

    Visual Studio6 Service Pack 5 was on PCQuest CD of APRIL 2003. And also
    available at microsoft site for download, but difficult to get on slow connection
    because of huge size.

    I'm also using Visual Studio (VB6 only) on WinXP since last more than one year,
    without any problem.
     
  12. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah one more thing, set the compatibility setting in the vb/vs setup to windows nt 4.0. it should install widout a hitch!
     
  13. OP
    OP
    deepak.krishnan

    deepak.krishnan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palakkad/Bangalore
    Thankyou friends
    I got it
    I installed VB SP5.It got fine
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page