Win LongHorn Transformation Pack

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by futuristically_ancient, Dec 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. futuristically_ancient

    futuristically_ancient New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On ma recliner...!
    Guys, could u plz temme wat is this WINDOWS LONGHORN TRANSFORMATION PACK ?!?!?!?
    Wat does it do to my current WinXP SP2 ???
     
  2. milganz

    milganz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Longhorn Transformation Pack

    Well, Longhorn Transformation Pack updates XP to give it the look and feel of Windows Longhorn, the next OS from Microsoft. It basically adds some new themes and patches system files. It also adds a Longhorn bootscreen and a sidebar. It's pretty safe to try out, because you can always uninstall it later. However, I'm not sure if there's any problem with it working with SP2.
     
  3. naveenchandran

    naveenchandran New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ** Hosur ** Operating System:GNU
    Yes, It is nice but it slows down the system very much :(
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    it just gives ur windows xp a different look
    that is the look of the upcomin OS codenamed : longhorn
    like u use themes for windows
    only in the transformation pack those system files which are responsible for th elook of ur system or REPLACED ...
    not overridden as in case of themes

    Please NOTE: i meant OVERRIDDEN and not OVERWRITTEN
     
  5. hafees

    hafees New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kerala
    yes it just acts as a theme (in some way more than just a theme).
    i ve installed it. but no visible degradation of performance. it is definitely more good looking than XP. Though i m using it i will not recommend it. (i have two xp installations. one for the maximum performance and the other for different looks and experiments.)
    but u can create more eye catching visual styles using Style XP or Windows Blinds etc.
     
  6. manjunatha

    manjunatha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mysore
    the longhorn transformation pack gives you better gui thts all :oops:
    unless these it doesnt changes the working of winxp
     
  7. n00b Saibot

    n00b Saibot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow
    i had installed win longhorn itself instead of transformation pack.
    really eats up de resources. took 'bout half an hour literally to fully load it.
    have removed it now. min. recommendation was 512MB mem. had it but even then it hogged down. my xp runs beauttifully on 512MB. howzzat 4 a change. so i think when longhorn comes, we'll hafta have 2GB mem. min. to run it perfectly. whadya guyz say :?: :roll:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    futuristically_ancient

    futuristically_ancient New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On ma recliner...!
    huh?!?!?!?! i thought win longhorn was supposed to be launched in mid-2006. If this is so,how did u INSTALL win longhorn n NOT da transformation pack?????
     
  9. allindrome

    allindrome New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Damn! GPS failure
    It is because he is using the beta Longhorn build.
    For the time being stick to windows xp .
     
  10. beaditya

    beaditya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hey long horn transformation pack sucks,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    have tried it out long back.......................its a hogger


    anybodys installed longhorn beta version os??

    i have the cd but i failed tryin to install 3 times ......................so i thought of leavin it alone


    i have a amd 64 bit 2800+,120gb sata hdd, i got raid on my board ..............................i think it effects the installation



    any suggestions??
     
  11. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    LONGHORN IS STILL IN ALPHA STAGE .. NOT BETA !!
    theres a diff
    :evil:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    futuristically_ancient

    futuristically_ancient New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On ma recliner...!
    well, all final releases of the s/w by microsoft, are no better than the beta release!!! :shock:
    But, i strongly DE-RECOMMEND using a BETA (or alpha) VERSION OPERATING SYSTEM, as this 1 d most critical s/w vich is installed on a comp... :?
     
  13. rahul_2015

    rahul_2015 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    longhorn doesnt work.........help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have a pentium 3 computer with compaq presario motherboard running windows xp on two saperate partitions.i recently downloaded Longhorn Transformation Pack 8.0 from "softpedia.com".after i install longhorn after the questions asked,it asks me to restart the computer and when i do so i see the
    same boot screen and theme except for the logon screen.i uninstalled windowblinds 4 thinking it was the reason.
    also i cant change the boot screen except with "boot studio".some themes dont install except with "windowblinds 4".i got the LASshell error many times.i have a broadband LAN connection and many virii controlled by Avast.
     
  14. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    man that was a little vague
    :shock:
    ok try uninstalling the LHTP ..
    then run sfc /scannow after inserting ur win xp cd
    then make sure u have sp2 ( i thinkt hats needed ... or is it ? )
    reinstall lhtp ... and see if it works
     
  15. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    No it doesn't, i think u tried some old build 3683/4015/4074??
    There's a special build for AMD Processors Windows Codename Longhorn: BUILD 4083 x86 AMD... If you have MSDN Subscription (????) you can download it for FREE from MSDN.

    Latest Build [LEAKED!!!] is 4099... which is available illegally everywhere on P2P...

    We tested 4074 here in our lab... it gave decent performance... was with 1 GB RAM Systsm @ P4 3000 MHz...

    You must have at least 512 MB RAM to get decent stuff with Longhorn...

    Here's Schedule Stuff:
    (Hope this will clear doubts in ppls m,ind about LONGHORN ALPHA & BETA stuff)

     
  16. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    And yeah.. I forgot to say... LHTP sucks big time!!!

    You can get all look-n-feel of LHTP by KOL's and Jameho's Visual Styles...
     
  17. neerajvohra

    neerajvohra Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SO shall we have to increase our memory by 2gb?or what
    still i am using 1gb ram,as i am a game addicted like doom3 and pain killers
    so guys go and get prepared for the purchase of RAM!!!!!
     
  18. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    sure LH will require at least 512 MB of minimum memory....

    the Graphics stuff of LH; Codenamed: Aero is one of best thing ever happened to GUI in my point of view... it'll sure impress u when u use it... it's trans/3d/flip/reverse/everything...

    And the main reason for LH eating more memory is it's graphics stuff...

    let's see what MS declears LH's minimum reqs...
     
  19. cybershastri

    cybershastri New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mangalore
    is there any alternative to longhorn transformation pack. Any other decent theme changing software?

    EDIT:
    I dont want to use style XP. It is not freeware.
     
  20. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    so are other "theme changin software"
    ur best bet is to patch ur uxtheme.dll file and use msstyles
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page