Why Windows Vista is delayed

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by JGuru, Jun 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Microsoft earlier said that it would ship Vista in the middle of 2006.
    We have almost neared the middle of 2006 and they say that Vista
    would be ready by 2007!! You may ask why.
    There are more reasons for the delay.
    Any product before it's release should go through thorough testing,
    Beta 1, and Beta 2. And after all the glitches are fixed they should
    ship the product.

    1) Vista is in Beta 2 right now, and early testers say that there are
    a few snags like driver and application compatibility issues.

    2) Microsoft wants Vista to be more secure. So they are working hard
    to fix lot of vulnerabilities like buffer-overflow and others. To address
    buffer-overflow they have quietly fitted the feature called 'ASLR'.
    ASLR stands for Address Space Layout Randomization, they borrowed
    this from the Open-source World!!

    3) Also, since most of the problems arise in Windows under a administrator
    account. They want to make the default account as limited account to
    minimize security risks.

    4) To make the data in the PCs more secure Vista will come with Bitlocker
    an encryption tool that encrypts all the data in the harddisk. Bitlocker
    would be available in Windows Vista Enterprise and Ultimate editions.
    So even if your harddisk falls on the wrong hands , they won't be able to
    steal any data from it.

    To read more click the link below:
    http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,1967354,00.asp
     
  2. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope they do something about the xtra "resource" thing!
     
  3. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Nothing can be done other than upgrade your PC since Vista comes with a 3Duser interface that consumes lot of resources!! Microsoft says that you need a 3 GHZ or higher processor, 512 MB RAM & a decent Graphics card that can display the Aero interface smoothly. This is just the minimum configuration needed to run Vista!! If you want it to run fast you need 1 GB RAM & a powerful Graphics card like NVidia (latest) !!!.So who ever wants to switch to Vista needs to upgrade!!
    Microsoft also said that pirated versions of Vista won't display the Aero interface!! Also the new softwares from
    Microsoft would run only on Vista and not on XP!!
     
  4. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    the only way for a timely realease is to open source it.i bet it will out in start of next year.
     
  5. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    I feel they're having trouble with the new WinFX API thats gonna be used for apps programming for Vista platform.
     
  6. dreamcatcher

    dreamcatcher Rockin g33k

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    punctuals are never cared for.just a publicicity stunt to keep peaple guessing.
     
  7. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    I also think the same.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    It's not about punctuality , it's about stability of the OS and fixing all the
    incompatibility issues. Microsoft underestimated the time taken to release Vista!!
    Since their are major changes in Vista like 3D user interface, rewriting the OS
    to make it more secure, make all the things easier for the end-user. By now Vista
    is in Beta 2 and the testers say that it's more stable , but there are more compatibility
    issues that need to be fixed. Anyway , Microsoft doesn't want to ship a product (full of bugs)
    on time & receive lot of complaints!! So Microsoft is taking it's time to fix it all and then release Vista.

    Gary, Microsoft's Windows is a proprietary OS , and they won't go open-source way!! Microsoft
    keeps all the source code of Windows close to it's chest tightly.
     
  9. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Oh noooo...they r just testing the patience of virus writers!!!
     
  10. hbk549

    hbk549 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Gaming world
    yes i agree man
     
  11. phatratt

    phatratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mysore
    i guess there are too many bugs and other problems,so they need more time to fix them which results a better,less bug free o/s.
     
  12. blackleopard92

    blackleopard92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suppose Directx 10 unloads all those resource hungry things, so the performance hit might not be that great.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Only thing that consumes more memory (256 MB RAM) is the Aero 3D interface.Other than that others are like in XP. Sun MicroSystems already developed a 3D user interface called "Project Looking Glass" that also consumes lot of memory, 10 months back!! PLG can run on Linux, Windows, Solaris etc.,
    For more details about Project Looking Glass checkout the links below:

    http://java.sun.com/developer/technicalArticles/J2SE/Desktop/lookingglass/index.html

    Checkout the Screenshots:
    http://www.sun.com/software/looking_glass/details.xml
     
  14. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You mean to say 4 years for making it stable? Remember Longhorn was first scheduled to be released in 2003. I think it's more cos they've had too many problems in trying to implement security measures over it's unsecure base.
    Or if they took 4 years for stability and fixing incomatibility issues then they are even more incompetent then our Government officials.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Yes , you are right Tech_your_future. Since lot of XP users complained about
    their Systems crashing , worms infections, Server attacks. So Microsoft decided
    to fix all the security related issues first. It's easier said than done, since fixing
    security issues takes lot of trial & error , and it takes lot of months until the problem
    got fixed!! Since the hackers & virus-writers know the Windows OS security problems
    very well, Microsoft decided to rewrite the part of OS itself again (that's millions of lines
    of code again from scratch!!). Believe meit takes years to do it. They have totally changed
    the application addressing system with a new one called Address Space Layout Randomization.ie.,
    theapplications address in the memory changes randomly making it difficult for hackers or
    virus-writers crash the OS. Even with 40,000 employees it takes time.
     
  16. goobimama

    goobimama  Macboy

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goa
    Mac OS X.....runs fine on 256 MB.
     
  17. mail2and

    mail2and Walking, since 2004.

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Shhh... Don't wake up the Microsoft Fanboys :p
     
  18. Zeeshan Quireshi

    Zeeshan Quireshi C# Be Sharp !

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    well why r u ppl so excited , if ur workg getz done in winxp then why vista ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page