Why does Opera load faster than other Browzers.?

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by the deconstructionist, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the deconstructionist

    the deconstructionist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chasing new ideas
    8) My question is ,Why does Opera load faster than other Browzers.like Firefox or IE?
     
  2. Third Eye

    Third Eye gooby pls

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not very far from you
    i don't see any loading difference between opera and firefox.opera is more professional but some sites doesn't open with it.so i prefer firefox.
     
  3. Alfansey06

    Alfansey06 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know. but i have seen opera monitors what you are viewing. means if some image is loading, you scroll down to another image. top one stops and bottom starts loading.
     
  4. go4saket

    go4saket 9437077259

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sambalpur, Orissa
    Come on man, Opera infact takes longer to load than others. But the best part of it is that surfing with Opera is the fastest.
     
  5. the.kaushik

    the.kaushik œ∑´®†¥¨ˆøπåß∂ƒ©˙∆˚¬Ω≈ ç√∫˜

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    opera 9 i feel is faster comparatively as am using both.. but 1 thing i noticed that firefox takes less time to re open pages which are opened before..

    ya and its true that working with opera is faster say for ex.. they now introduced a new option with "paste" as "paste and go".. it really helps as u need not req to press enter while searching or opening url using a copy paste..
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  6. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dunno y its fast but opera's cache is the best..... + its low on ram....
     
  7. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems fast cause it loads text first maybe, like firefox does. Now even IE7 is fsat too.
     
  8. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    Can ny 1 also tell Why does BMW runs faster than other cars ?


    Ans:-Ask tis question to manufacturers of BMW
    lolz
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  9. OP
    OP
    the deconstructionist

    the deconstructionist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chasing new ideas

    If not the manufacturers then ask the experts and I hope this the right place to ask the question.
     
  10. paul_007

    paul_007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    earth
    LOL :))

    great reply !!!!
     
  11. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Ahh! Firefox loads and searches pages much faster than opera on my box!
     
  12. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Opera has some Net tweaks in place. Like 'http pipelining', loads text from the page
    first, loads Image in the background. You can do the same tweaks for FireFox.
    Type 'about:config' in the address bar & change the Net connection settings.
    FireFox will load faster now!!
     
  13. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    ^^
    True!
    I usually add following lines in prefs.js file to increase the FF speed:

    Code:
    user_pref("browser.turbo.enabled", true);
    user_pref("config.trim_on_minimize", false);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
     
  14. chesss

    chesss mera kutch nahi ho sakta

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    One definite reason I know of is Opera's javascript loading speed.
    This has been proved in innumerable tests
    See here : http://celtickane.com/projects/jsspeed.php
    Another reason is Opera's caching ability, Opera really makes use of cache(downloaded data), so there is huge speed advantage when visiting a site second time. (make sure you increase the cache from preferences.
     
  15. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Opera caches all your pages, scripts, flash files, pictures etc. so the next time your visit all it has to do is load from its cached file. it occupies about 20Mb to do this.
    increasing this size will allow the browser to cache more.
     
  16. Sykora

    Sykora I see right through you.

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    In my experience, Opera hasn't loaded so quickly. It loads up faster than Firefox, but if you want speed, try dillo or epiphany, or even links.
     
  17. Manshahia

    Manshahia Resident Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /Milky way/earth/india/
    I m using FF2
    I typed about:config

    But cud nt find prefs.js
    YYY???
     
  18. ApoorvKhatreja

    ApoorvKhatreja New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Opera uses an algorithm which downloads and renders the html (text) part of the web page first and then downloads the images. Moreover, the images and javascript files are stored in cache for faster browsing. This gives Opera an edge over other browsers.
     
  19. alsiladka

    alsiladka Noobie Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here, there, everywhere
    Opera is a far more technical browser. One of the reasons why opera is faster than firefox is that in firefox, you install 3rd party apps, which are not hardcoded in the original code. Whereas in Opera, most of the features are built in, which means they are part of the main code, so no inconsistencies.
     
  20. ApoorvKhatreja

    ApoorvKhatreja New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Moreover, Opera is written in a very low level language. This makes it quite fast.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page