Which way to opt AMD or Intel?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by eagle_y2j, Jun 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    I am upgrading my current system (2.8Ghz processor on i845 mobo) as my system doesn't have any Graphic slot(AGP ,PCI-e ) many other features like SATA,Onboard LAN etc.

    My main purpose of my system to run smoothly Vista and do some multimedia work on Photoshop,Flash etc and some gaming but the main problem is that I am not sure to which platform to choose either Intel or AMD .Till now I faced no problem from Intel but I came across one article in some of the websites that AMD is gud perfomer than Intel and cost effective also so ,can any1 help me out to make wise decision .

    And also suggest me mobo+cpu including following features

    My Budget is upto 12,000 bucks max for Mobo+CPU

    I am looking for following feature
    MObo

    1.PCI-e slot
    2.Sata
    3.DDR 2*
    4.Onboard LAN, Graphics,Sound
    5.Dual core CPU support*

    CPU
    Gud performer and cost effective (If possible plz quote price for dual core )

    And lastly ...I am wanna sell out my old mobo+processor i.e orignal Intel 845GVSR+2.8 Ghz (533Mhz 512Kb cache) my delear is ready to buy this for 5500Rs .Is this is a right price for 2 year old machine
     
  2. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    amd i think...in short
    but do checkout properly...i guess dual-cores from intels r kool...
    cheers
     
  3. Chirag

    Chirag bang bang!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vadodara
    U can go for the following config. I have it and it jst rocks.

    Amd 3200+ with Asus A8n-e(my mobo is without onboard gfx) so if u want onboard gfx than go for Asus A8n-vm. I gor amd 3200+asus a8n-e for 13k at the end of Feb. 06. Don't know current prices. If it is above 12k than u can got for amd 3000+ with asus a8n-vm.

    AMD 3800+X2 is dual core processor but its current price is 13k-14k as far as i know. So i think u shld buy amd 3200+ or 3000+.
     
  4. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suggest an Intel too, considering you are using Pshop and stuff of multimedia... try a low 820 dual core of 2.6 GHz, it can be safely oc'ed to 4~ ghz :) Awesome!
     
  5. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    U can easily get a Pentium D 805 costing only $130 and a intel 945 xx based mobo from ASUS...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    wat abut IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® D Processor 820 can any1 quote its price (Indian)
    and suggest a mobo for it
     
  7. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
  8. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Intel for photoshop, dual core with 256-512mb geforce 7600 or X1800 series provided you don't game much
     
  9. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    for games its certainly amd64 may be x2...
    cheers
     
  10. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Wait till Jan for Intel quad-core conroe
     
  11. dIgItaL_BrAt

    dIgItaL_BrAt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude,that'll be way out of his budget.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    Hey! frnds plz suggest me a gud mobo for Intel dual core cpu
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2006
  13. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    Pentium D 805 with Intel 945GNT for intel

    Asus A8N-VM with Athlon64 3200+
     
  14. OP
    OP
    eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    Any comments............!!
     
  15. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Oh...lol...yes i never read that red printed budget thing. Ok then, u gotta stick with an AMD 3200+ and the usual A8N-E/VM mobo.
    Or D 805..but its crappy...i dunno abt its overclocking as qwerty said...but...:S
    Yeah 5500 is gud enough for a 2 yr old rig...check online if some1 is wiling to pay higher
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2006
  16. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Being a hardcore AMD fan Im reccomenting Intel to somebody for the first time as the reasons are:
    Vista support in least cost
    DDR2
    Dual core
    ----------
    The 945 mobos onboard Graphics named somewhat 950GMA(not sure as I was not interested in Intel articles) supports Vista 100% with all the tranperencies. Go for a Pentium D 805 nd supports DDR2 upto 667Mz.

    As for AMD DDR2, Dual core all are extremely expensive as DDR2 support is only for newest AM2 socket which could be a killer in price. The lowest dual core X2 3800+ costs 15k+ for proc itself(but is worth the money). And only 7 series nvidia supports Vista 100%. A 7300LS costs around 6k. That is a lot of money..

    But for Intel u can get vista ready disply, dual core nd DDR2 support for very less price but at the trade of perfomance which I think u don't bother as price is as low.
     
  17. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If u go for Pentium D then don't go for original intel mobo....I've heard that ASUS boards are better than O.G intel ones ....so go for ASUS 945 PL mobo based in Intel 945 chipset.....

    And 945 mobo is fully Vista ready!!!!
     
  18. Keith Sebastian

    Keith Sebastian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar
    and (allegedly) it can be OC'ed to > 4 Ghz (per core) on air cooling alone. Check out anandtech.com (or was it tomshardware.com ?)

    Cheers,
    Keith
     
  19. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can the 945 run DDR1?
    If yes then go for DDR1 memory coz u will get a 2.5 CL ram at minimum.....and cheap DDR2 offers higher latencys...So don't go for DDR2 unless u are getting a good DDR2 with low latency....
     
  20. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes all DDR2 supportive slots have backward comaptiblity with DDR =)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page