which Procesor to buy

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by biswarup, Mar 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. biswarup

    biswarup ComputationalArcheologist

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata,West Bengal
    I want to know whether Intel D 820 or AMD 64 3500+(939 pins) will be is better for everyday home use. I use to play games, code programmes in VB.NET, surf the net , watch movies and sometimes use to creae multimedia applications.
    Also please refer to preferable motherboards for both the processors with onboard graphics (atleast 128 mb video memory). Please tell me the price of them all as in kolkata.
    _________________
     
  2. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I´d suggest....
    get 3200+ and overclock...

    for now 3500+ will outperform 820 but in future 820 will be better....

    here in kolkata.. 3200+ for ~8000
    3500+ for ~11000

    820 is costlier than the 2..........
     
  3. kaustav_geek

    kaustav_geek 1337 |)00|) \m/

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Space
    To biswarup:

    For everyday use, and the kinds of applications you run, with occassional gaming included, your safest bet will be an AMD 64 3000+ which retails for abt Rs 5850 in Kolkata.It is sufficient for all usual tasks, and if you want a good gaming machine put in a powerful GFx card preferably 6800 GS from XFX or Leadtek and put in some more RAM.A 3500+ is essential for the multimedia artists and Gamers.If you are not one don't need to bother about it. Chow!+
    -Kaustav
     
  4. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    well, dunno about here, but ppl at the coding forums prefer intel coz of its architecture...
    BTW, whats the xact price of Pentium 4 Xtreme edition 3.6 Ghz?
     
  5. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    3000+ or 3200+ would be better.......3500+ to high for everyday use.y waste money.....can use it on ther h/w stuff :)
     
  6. ymhatre

    ymhatre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai, Vile Parle - East
    Hey man go for
    AMD 3200+ with asus a8n-vm CSm board
    or
    Intel 3.0 ghz with ASUS p5rd2 board.
    both this configuration is beelow 15000
    and r gr8
    both mobo hav gr8 on board graphics
     
  7. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Get a AMD Athlon64 3500+ and 1gb of DDR 400 RAM.You can try the Biostar TForce 6100-939 which has the Nvidia Geforce 6100 Onboard graphics and it retails for Rs 4000.The RAM will cost at least Rs 5000.The processor will cost Rs 12000.
     
  8. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    i bought MSI K8NGM2-IL mobo with AMD athlon 3000+ 939 pin for just 9850/-
    rockin performance mannnnnnnn!!!
    MSI mobos are the best.
    Go for FID rather thn IL if available it was not available in my case.
     
  9. kaustav_geek

    kaustav_geek 1337 |)00|) \m/

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Space
    To GeekyBoy:

    biswarup has modest computing needs.He is more of a hardcore Coder,casual surfer,music listener, and movie viewer than a gamer.I think he'll be more than satisfied with a 3000+.

    Its got enough proccessing power and the 3200+ edges it out negligibly.So biswarup ,i think you already have a mobo, if you don't then don't go for Biostar.I've read tht these don't perform very good.ASUS is famous for o/c'ability and stability.Its a safer bet to go for an ASUS A8N-VM CSM based on nVidia's 6100 chipset.
    Don't go for 3500+ ,its too high a performer to be used for everyday tasks.As for making a good gaming system out of yours, in my previous post i'v mentioned it.+
    -Kaustav
     
  10. abhishek_sharma

    abhishek_sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    really with ur kind of usage needs u dont need a high end system, having a 3500+. save money and buy some other peripheral/device instead.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    biswarup

    biswarup ComputationalArcheologist

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata,West Bengal
    DDR2 ram

    ASUS A8N VM-CSM boards are based on 6150 chipset that gives descent graphics performance. Thanks for ur suggestions, I have another querry. As the new Intel 945G motherboards support only DDR2 rams, What is the price for 512MB DDR2 ram?
     
  12. Chiran Rai

    Chiran Rai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dharan,Nepal
    Help me!
    I had made 3 partition in my 40 GB hard drive.C:drive was where my Win98 resided.D:drive is my backup drive and E:drive is where my WinXp resides.
    Now, recently to get rid of Win98 and acquire more space. I deleted C:drive partition with he help of WinXp installation CD.But now the problem is that my computer has stopped booting to WinXp.
    Is there any solution to this problem?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    biswarup

    biswarup ComputationalArcheologist

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata,West Bengal
    Deleted MBR

    Hey, don't worry. You've accidentally deleted the MBR which resides in the C: drive. You just have to boot your PC with WinXP cd and then update the existing XP. Other ways are to reinstall XP or reconstuct the MBR.
    do whatever you think easier.
     
  14. thinktwice

    thinktwice New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    go for 3500+ man!!!
    with MSI K8N GM2 IL or ASUS A8N VM-CSM
    mobo...rocking combination ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page