Which 2 OS to Use

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by speedyguy, May 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    Hello frnds,

    Its good to see this forum in all new colours... i was out of touch as my papers were on but now im back home for vacations so will have some better participation.

    OK, currently i have 2 os, win98 SE and XP SP2 (prof)... i guess ive not even logged on to 98 since last 1 yr so why keep it as waste... now we got tons of new options like vista, linux etc.

    so can u plz suggest me any two os which i shud keep in my desktop.... i recon one shud be xp as im into latest games, internet surfing n chatting, downloading, n other applications like burning, mobile connectivity etc.

    my rig is-

    p4 1.8ghz,
    intel 845GV chipset (gigabyte),
    40gb hdd (4 partitions),
    128mb ATi radeon 9200 series (AGP),
    dvd-rom+cd-writer.

    waiting for response....i will be formatting my hdd within next 3 days so want some good advice....thanx

    cheers
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You haven't given how much RAM you posses. If you have RAM lesser than 512 MB. It will be worthless to even think of Vista.
    If you want to try out vista, you can go for it, but it hardly makes sense if you want to use it regularly as it is still in beta phase and does have many bugs.
    You can try out linux as it is flexible enough to run on whatever hardware specification you have. Which distro to install depends on your experience. Search for more on that in Open Source section.
    Besides you can try out DesktopBSD or PC-BSD. Their latest versions are based on FreeBSD 6.0. They are really easy to install and use. And you have thousands of softwares available through FreeBSD ports. You can have a look at this thread where I have posted some info on PC-BSD http://forum.techspot.in/showthread.php?t=2502
     
  3. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    sry....well i got 512mb ddr266
    n will hunt for this bsd...didnt heard of it....thanx...ne more advice

    cheers
     
  4. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Hmm so Vista will be usable on your system. Maybe you can add a RAM module when you want to use Vista.
    For the time being you can try out one one of those and have some experience. If you have any queries about them, they have their own forums and there are lot of members in Open Source section here that can help you too.
     
  5. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    Choice 1=Windows XP/media Center (dont ask me where to get it ;) )
    Choice 2=Linux/FreeBSD/Windows Server 2003

    Windows Vista will manage on 512 MB ram, but will only just(that too @ 266 Mhz). Do u have Video mem separate or onboard? If onboard, then consider increasing the RAM .
     
  6. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    @ mystichalo look at his first post he's mentioned 128mb ATi radeon 9200 series (AGP), I think that's a graphics card. Ain't it?
     
  7. santu_29

    santu_29 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    xp and linux........ wont say vista...
     
  8. prashharry@yahoo.com

    prashharry@yahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hostel
    If i would b u then, my choice...............
    XP Pro SP2/Fedora Core
     
  9. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    ok guys thanx for all ur response...(and yes i do have an external agp card)

    well im finding here vista has some compatibility issues...i dun wanna take chances if my pc wud suffer even a little wit those higher versions....i want a stable n fast system...

    so i guess i will be sticking wit xp sp2 + linux....

    sp2 is confirmed but im still not 100% abt 2nd os....will it be good wit linux or shud i see more options?

    cheers
     
  10. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    Linux is the Future...GRAB it Yaara :)
     
  11. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    i suggest u to use windows sp2
     
  12. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Now what is Windows SP2? I have never heard of it? There is SP2 for every version of windows that has come out.
    If you mean Windows XP SP2 then he already has it and he wants to have another OS to dual boot with Windows XP SP2.
    As I said earlier try out PC-BSd or DesktopBSD. They are really simple to use and learn. Besides if you want to try out linux you can go for Ubuntu or OpenSuse. They are very good for newbies IMO. I don't see any advantage of having two installations of windows unless you want to have one for testing purposes and other for production purposes or have some reason to use 2 differrent versions of windows.
     
  13. alienspiesu

    alienspiesu New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey dude tis is a perfect combo
    Windows XP SP2
    and any linux OS like GNOME or FEDORA..
    try'em out..
    gud luk~~
     
  14. Techinator

    Techinator New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    What's a location in matrix
    try xp sp2 with SuSe. if u r new to linux i think the installation an understanding of suse is a little easier than that of Fedora.
     
  15. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Also if you are apprehensive, you can try live cd's first. But, the performance of live cd won't be the same as when you install because live cd work from your RAM so the performace on live cd is a bit sluggish but with your 512MB of RAM it won't be a problem unles you open too many apps or some resource hogging app. Also, you cannot install anything permanantly to a live cd.
    For linux you can order ubuntu from shipit.ubuntu.com for totally free. You can isntall ubuntu straight from the live cd if you like it. Also, if you can get a Knoppix live cd. Knoppix is the king of live cd's, it is considered a must have for linux users, specially in case of repairing a distro. It can even be used to save data from corrupt windows installation.
    For BSD's, you can try FreeSBIE. it is a nice live cd. I haven't used it extensively so can't say much on it.
     
  16. MysticHalo

    MysticHalo Your Maker.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mumba][
    GNOME is a distro :confused: ????

    Yeah, its better to try out LiveCDs thangoing for an install. BUT IMO, get either Ubuntu or Gentoo..dont get FC5...its a big installation file and comes with lots of apps., most of which a newbie wouldnt need at all.
     
  17. eagle_y2j

    eagle_y2j New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Himalayas
    In my case with same rig(almost)Windows XP SP2 and SUSE works well !
    So u can also try this combination.
     
  18. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur

    thanx for correcting me.yes if he wants another he can opt for linux.he will get edge over many who do not know linux at all.including me:)
     
  19. OP
    OP
    speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    well quite frankly im new to live cds n linux....

    so can neone plz explain me abt Fedora, SuSe or GNome etc.
    and how abt this DSL (Damn Small Linux) supplied wit diGit last mnth... can i try it wit my flash drive...its around 60mb

    thanx
    cheers
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2006
  20. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You can try out puppy linux for your flash drive. It is really good distro and it will be fast as it runs XFCE, which is very low on resource consumption.
    You can also try out Ubuntu live cd and install ubuntu if you like it. IMO it is the best distro for newbies. and latest version, 6.06, which was released on 1st June, seems to be very good.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page