1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

what's going on inside??

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by club_pranay, Nov 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Problem1
    [​IMG]
    click to open larger..

    what's this systen idle process??? it's idle and taking 99% CPU??


    Problem2

    i am getting this error. what's wrong??
    [​IMG]
    click to open larger..

    -----------------------
    System Information
    -----------------------
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) (2600.xpclnt_qfe.021108-2107)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: KOBIAN
    System Model: 865GV/G
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz
    Memory: 222MB RAM
    Page File: 99MB used, 447MB available
    Windows Dir: D:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0b (4.09.0000.0902)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.0001.0902 32bit Unicode
     
  2. game_dev

    game_dev New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    (0,0,0)
    system idle process does not comsume any resources by itself. The number 99 indicates that the CPU is 99% idle. If other tasks use more CPU, the system idle process will drop down. This is normal.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    thanx game_dev

    1 more thing... i get that error(problem2) only for iexplore.exe
     
  4. Tech&ME

    Tech&ME Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    4ur problem no.2 do the following:
    clear the temp directory.
    clear IE history and cookies.
    restart ur computer. if this doesn't work. This may be due to a corrupt cookies / temporary internet files might have corrupted. So this should work if not.... lets see.
     
  5. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Please post your HijackThis Logfile for better assesment of your problem.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 12:25:52 AM, on 11/18/2004
    Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2600.0000)

    Running processes:
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\VScan\McShield.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\Agent\myAgtSvc.Exe
    D:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\Samsung\LaserSMMgr\ssmmgr.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\Agent\myagttry.exe
    D:\WINDOWS\System32\ctakfr.exe
    D:\Program Files\SEC\Magic Tune 2.5\GammaTray.exe
    D:\Program Files\Screenshot Utility\ScreenshotUtility.exe
    D:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    D:\Program Files\Sify Broadband\BBClient.exe
    D:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\DOCUME~1\PRANAY~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\iela.dat
    D:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    D:\Documents and Settings\Pranay(admin)\Desktop\data\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page_bak = http://www.holley.com/nosnitrous/index.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - d:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - D:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - d:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cmaudio] RunDll32 cmicnfg.cpl,CMICtrlWnd
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] D:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] D:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] D:\WINDOWS\System32\\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Samsung LBP SM] "D:\WINDOWS\Samsung\LaserSMMgr\ssmmgr.exe" /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [myCIO.com ASaP] D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\Agent\myagttry.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [myCIO.com Splash] D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\VScan\Splash.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zmxauon] D:\WINDOWS\System32\ctakfr.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "D:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: Screenshot Utility.lnk = D:\Program Files\Screenshot Utility\ScreenshotUtility.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Color Calibration.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = D:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://D:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://D:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://D:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://D:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://D:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://D:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
    O9 - Extra button: Corel Network monitor worker - {B369EC33-C9D1-4573-A6F5-4E6E5C1AB566} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Corel Network monitor worker - {B369EC33-C9D1-4573-A6F5-4E6E5C1AB566} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - D:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - D:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Corel Network monitor worker - {B369EC33-C9D1-4573-A6F5-4E6E5C1AB566} - (no file) (HKCU)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Corel Network monitor worker - {B369EC33-C9D1-4573-A6F5-4E6E5C1AB566} - (no file) (HKCU)
    O16 - DPF: {15AD4789-CDB4-47E1-A9DA-992EE8E6BAD6} - http://public.windupdates.com/get_f...6e12f85fd528:199ee2fabb487c2f7632a3c55842ae1b
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://chat.msn.com/bin/msnchat45.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{4E2620A9-62A4-4575-88E9-0B28F5E6FEB1}: NameServer = 202.144.115.4,202.144.66.6
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{EA481ACD-72D5-4A54-806C-0E284770CAA1}: NameServer = 192.168.1.1
    O18 - Protocol: myrm - {4D034FC3-013F-4B95-B544-44D49ABE3E76} - D:\WINDOWS\myCIO\Agent\myRmProt2.8.1.119.dll
     
  7. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Pranay .. You got virus ...
    Kill those process before proceeding ...

    To proceed with your HijackThis log, Run HijackThis again and put a CheckMark next to these entries and Click on Fix Checked.
    Please make sure that all Internet Explorer and Windows Explorer windows are closed.
    You will need a virus scan too.. MyCio sux ...Scan your system with updated virus definitions:
    Panda ActiveScan
    Stinger
    Symantec System Check
    Kaspersky
     
  8. Aseem Nasnodkar

    Aseem Nasnodkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Panaji - Goa
    it_waaznt_me.... I know u were too good man!
    THANX from me too. Got a similar prob!
     
  9. OP
    OP
    club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    it_waaznt_me too cool!!
    i'll tell you if this thing is fixed.... for antivirus, i have a sify connection and therefore have Viruscan ASaP -secuersynergy(detects no virus) is it ok?
    or should i install NAV04 on other OS?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    here's the logfile after cleaning it
     
  11. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Okay.. The log is clean .. I will suggest you to get some respectable antivirus and install a firewall too ..
     
  12. tuxfan

    tuxfan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Sorry for spamming here. But please show everyone what a HijackThis log can do. So that people use it more often for solving problems :). BTW, batty, you can delete this post of mine ;)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    club_pranay

    club_pranay Nokia 7110 to iPhone 5

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    i got nav2003 pro free with my monitor, but theze sify ppl are forcing me to use their own antivirus(secure synergy).

    i have XoftSpy installed
     
  14. ice

    ice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    U can disable the Sify Antivrius, there is a post on tech-arena.com regarding that,.
     
  15. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
    Bah ...I can then only pity Secure Synergy users :p .. there was a virus in the system and it didnt detected it .. doest it contains hueristic scan ...? I m sure it wont be having ...

    My advice is still to use Norton if you have the licensed version .. or try Kaspersky ...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page