what will you suggest

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by krish, Mar 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    Hi,

    I know that a thread for Laptop queries is going on, but there was no reply in that thread for long long time, that's why I'm starting a new thread. I need to make the decision quickly.

    Which of these two will you recommend:

    Acer Aspire 3003NWLMi
    AMD Sempron 3000+ Processor (1.8GHz) / 256 MB DDR333 RAM / 60 GB / DVD Dual drive/ 15.4" WXGA CrystalBrite TFT screen w/ 1280 x 800 resolution / LAN / 56K Fax/Modem/ 802.11b/g wireless LAN/ 8-cell Battery/ 3 USB Ports/Linux/ 1 year standard ITW (incl. Battery)

    http://www.acer.co.in/products/notebooks/aspire3003.html

    OR

    Compaq Presario M2512 AU
    AMD SEMPRON 3000+ @ 1.8GHz / ATI Radeon XPRESS 200 Chipset / 256MB DDR SDRAM / 40GB HDD Ultra DMA / 24X CDRW-DVD Combo Drive / 15" XGA TFT Display / ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M PCI Express Graphics / Up to 64MB Shared Memory / Altec Lansing Stereo Speakers / 56K Modem / NIC / Integrated Wireless LAN 802.11 b/g / LiIon Battery / TouchPad / S-Video TV Out / 2 USB 2.0 / FreeDOS

    http://cgi.ebay.in/Rs-34990-ONLY-FO...6861148834QQcategoryZ3711QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    (Use the above link only for specifications, can't get it on compaq website)

    And remember there is a big difference in their chipsets. Acer has got SIS whereas Compaq got ATI.

    See right now, price budget is a big consideration. So I want to get the best available in a budget of 35-40 K.

    Mine will be used mostly for gaming, applications like Oracle etc, and for the entertainment purposes. I know that for gaming, this is very less budget but can't help it. That's why I wan't the best in this budget.

    Will storage be a constarint in Compaq? As ACER has got DVD writer + 60 GB HDD and compared to compaq which got Combo + 40 GB......

    Please revert soon. Thanks.

    Krish
     
  2. OP
    OP
    krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    Anyone....
     
  3. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Hey i dont really think sis chipset is good, so better take the ATI chipset.

    Also, check out I think you can get the AMD 64bit Turion processor in that range.
    It will be better than sempron.

    http://www.acer.co.in/products/notebooks/aspire5000.html

    you can save the money if u opt for linux.
    latter if you want you can get windows loaded.
    antivirus u can install any good like AntiVir, I am using on my IBM R51 laptop its good.
    So more money saved
    what you say

    Regards
     
  4. sanzay

    sanzay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Compaq Presario M2512 AU !!
    U can lso check d LENOVO series........
     
  5. OP
    OP
    krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    @mobilegeek:
    I know that AMD Turion will be better but there are 2 things in that:
    1. It will be with ACER (for that prive range), so again SIS.
    2. All other brands's turions are expensive.

    @sanzay:
    I'll go for that....Lenovo are expensive....in that range only celeron M is available...not considering that for now...

    What say ppl.....??

    Thanks
     
  6. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Sempron is good too .. what are other option in that.

    One thing is true that except for sis chipset .. everything is good in Acer Turion. It has Wi-Fi, Dvd dual layer writer, etc.

    Have you got the rates from the market :?:

    What are rates u r getting ?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    I'm getting the AMD one for around 37,000. The Compaq is for 33, 200. The RAM in the compaq one can be increased to 512 MB. So maybe I'll buy that....
     
  8. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Which AMD u are getting for 37,000,
    &
    How much you have to pay more for DVD writer in Compaq Presario M2512 AU laptop.

    I am searching .. but I am not able to find the thread
    .. It was a review on Acer AMD Turion Laptop.

    I think you should take - aspire5000

    AMD Turion consumes less power, thereby less heat & some more battery life
    Athlon takes around 65watts, but this new Turion takes just 35 watts.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    For 37,000, its AMD Sempron 3000+ (1.8 Ghz). In compaq presario, the dealer is not ready to give DVD Writer as he is saying that it is not possible. So I'm increasing the RAM to 512 MB in Compaq. In the Compaq one, the proccer is the same.

    AMD Turion is definitely better as its a 64 bit CPU, but the thing is that it won't fit in my budget. I've checked the prices. Aspire 5000 series is the one with Turion based proccys.

    Are the Sempron Mobile proccys good for laptops as compared to Celeron M?????

    The Compaq has PCI Express based chipset for ATI Radeon. So it has one up over SIS in Acer.

    What say???????
     
  10. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    @krish
    u location is correct ?

    if yes i found a mate
     
  11. OP
    OP
    krish

    krish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur >> Mumbai >> Thane
    @gary4gar

    Yes, my location is correct....but now a days i'm in mumbai.... BTW where do you stay in Jaipur?? I'm residing very near to Hotel Clarks Amer....

    I've got the Compaq Presario one with RAM increased to 512 MB :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page