What upgrades should I make to my config? Budget 10K

Discussion in 'PC Components / Configurations' started by mehulved, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    I have a budget of 10-11K for upgrades to my PC.
    My PC is 2.5 years old.Here's my config :-
    P4 2.0 Northwood core
    VIA 845 chipset mobo
    512 MB RAM @ 333MHz + 256MB RAM @ 266MHz
    Benq DW 1650 DVD writer
    LG CD-RW
    350W SMPS, can't remember which company

    I do want to buy one graphics card. Which one should I go for? And if I sell my current RAM, how much will I get approx? 512MB RAM module was bought in March this year and the other one was bought with the PC. I wish to go in for a new 1GB RAM module. If that won't fit me I will leave the 512 one as it is and add one more 512MB one.
    And will my SMPS handle the load or will I need a new one.
    My main purpose of buying a graphics card is for XGL(for those who don't know, it's a 3D desktop for Linux, like Aero for Vista) and a few linux games.
    I got suggestion for 6600GT and 6200GT. I don't have much idea of graphics card please give me some features of the card you'll recommend.
    Also, please give me some site where I can find comparision of features of different graphics card and some site for latest prices of the cards in Mumbai, though I will check it up in Lamington Road tomorrow or day after.

    EDIT :- It should be a AGP card as my mobo only supports AGP and yes there's an AGP slot there in my mobo.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
  2. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,
    Go get a 865 based mobo for 3.5k-4k.........and 512X2 ram sticks.........
    865 supports dual channel.........
    For the graphics card get a 6200...no GT model is available...there is one TC that is Turbo Cache...but its quite useless....

    Get 6200 for 2.5k or 6600 for 3.5k...6600GT is round 6k-6.5k....
    If u get a 6200 u r old SMPS might be able to take the load....but it surely won't can take the load of a 6600GT......

    For SMPS a normal VIP will do with 400 watts and with 20A across +12v rail.....
     
  3. homiyar

    homiyar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The cheapest solution is that you buy another Hard Disk. That will improve your system performance.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    And how will that be? I can't see in anyway that hard disk can improve the performance.
    I will let my current 40GB hard disk be as it is, I don't see any use in buying a bigger one for now.

    Any other suggestions? I will be visiting some shops tomorrow so if I have more idea, I can search for options. I am tending more towards buying a graphics card for 8K or so. A new SMPS for whatever it costs and a 512MB RAM module. So, please suggest a graphics card.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page