what is this .NET?

Status
Not open for further replies.

technomodel

Journeyman
Guys anyone with the remotest interest in computers today have heard of something called .NET. But very few know what this actually is. So I would like to place the following questions in front of the forum.
1. What is this .NET? What is it's importance in the software industry?
2. There are so many prefixes to .NET, like VB.NET, Visual c#.NET, ASP.NET. What are the differences between them, if there are any.
3.Supposing i am a prificient c programmer, but know no other language, what is the route i should follow to attain expertise in .NET. And i mean self teaching. No training centres.

OP
T

technomodel

Journeyman
i forgot to add something. i've heard this .NET is essentially a microsoft thing. does it mean it has no scope in a linux platform? Then what do i need for a similar function.

aadipa

Padawan
.NET is a framework (system library files) on which applications created with "Visual Studio .NET" will work.
It is microsoft's attept to create something like JRE. In these virtual machines, applications are compiled to some intermediate code instead of pure exe files. So u can work in any of the .NET language at a time to create 1 big project.

OP
T

technomodel

Journeyman
do you mean that it is something like the set of header files(stdio,math,conio etc etc..) which we use to program with c & c++? does it mean i can use any OO lanuage like vb, vc++ or c# to program using the .NET framework? and what are the differences between .Net and JRE ? i mean, if they are similar, why is .NET making such a wave?

G