1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

What is the BEST WAY to Keep ur system clean internally.

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by KHUBBU, Nov 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what is the best way to keep ur system clean from the inside and how often do u do that. plz give ur opinion.
    yesterday when i opened my system's cabinet . there was a lot of dust setting near the ram slot. so i took my vacuum cleaner and used the blower to clean it. success. it easily got away. i also cleaned the smps fan with the blower, lot of dust came out. One more thing the front side or the upper side (ie the side on which chips etc are present)of any card can be easily cleaned with the blower but on the other side the dust just doesnt seem to move. how can it be cleaned. is there any need to clean it?
     
  2. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - use the air filters that come with the air conditioners to patch up places inside ur cabinet where dust might come through . u can attach air filters a bit bigger than ur fans , on the front or back of ur fans . this way all u need to do is clean the filters more often .

    - use cello tape to cover pci slots which are vacant behind the cabinet .

    - make sure u have minimum or no gap between drives and those plastic things used to cover vacant drives .

    - attach 2 intake fans at the front bottom and 2 outlet fans at rear top to have better air flow .

    - if possible twist the ide cables into a cylindrical shape so that no dust settles on them .

    - use normal dust covers and if too dirty , just cover the whole system with a small bed spread .

    - use cabinets which has covers over the cdrom drives . this protects it from dust .

    - cut out the metal part of the cabinet behind the cabinet where u fix the out let fan . i used a drilling machine to make a perfect circular cut . prior to this i just had perforated metal behind and dust actually accumulated koz there was no way dust could be sent out . now even the fan is clean and not much dust

    - use an ordinary paint brush with thick bristles and flat in shape . it can remove most dust in all corners . use johnson ear buds too to remove dust . add some alchohol to it too or nail polish remover .
     
  3. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav Guest

    vacume cleaner works fine with me too
     
  4. DKant

    DKant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a creaking plashtik chair
    Never cleaned :mrgreen:
     
  5. swatkat

    swatkat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Shimoga/ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗ
    Beware while using Vacuum cleaner.Becuase dust might stick on the RAM slots and due to this computer might not boot up.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can u explain a litle bit. vacuum cleaners sucks in dust so that no dust remains on the surface or it blows out dust through its blower , both the things with high pressure.
     
  7. Prashray

    Prashray New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Locating....Locating....Access Denied!
    Using vaccum cleaner.
     
  8. vysakh

    vysakh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Old trafford
    ooops i havent opened my system cabinet for over a year
    last time i opened it , it was to add RAM and i cleaned it with a brush
     
  9. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    reverse the vacuum settings ... set it on blow ... and watch the dust fly ;)
    anyhow ... after all that ... the dust thats hard to get out even while using the suckin action .. is loosened ... use the vacuum cleaner in normal mode later to get rid of some loose residue flying ard

    take a paint brush and clean the fan blades out ...

    if u keep ur comp for more than a year check ur heatsink also ( this doesnt have anything to do with cleaning as much as it has to do with heat ... check ur thermal paste and reapply if necessary)

    o and one more thing ...use a cloth to dust the inside of the "CABINET" not the COMPONENTS !!!. ... get to places where u can .. like the inner side of ur side panel
     
  10. djmykey

    djmykey Let the music play.....

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    me too happy wit vaccum cleaner, me dusts machine every month.
     
  11. suhas_sm

    suhas_sm New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    A good question my cabinet is open most of the time ! its beside the sliding windows of my balcony n thers a dusty ground in front of my building ! so i get dust no matter what i do :? i tried everything but tired of doing again n again. I always feared my vaccum cleaner would suck in jumpers n those capacitor n ics ;) Now i dont give a damn ... just clean in once in six months with some soft bristle brush or something! n clean contacts with white alchohol while reseating the chips :)
     
  12. godzi_85

    godzi_85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    oh i clean with vaccumm cleaner too..
    phew man i`m glad its finally out in the open ;)

    and klinux.. thanks a lot dude... i`ll use some of your tips. to keep my pc clean....
     
  13. rakesh_1024

    rakesh_1024 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, a one inch paint brush is all you need.
    No nonsense and the most effective way for cleaning. :)
    Try it on your heatsink and motherboard circuitry.
    If u r not satisfied try the above things.
    You don't want loose connections or jumper fallouts, do u?






    (Itz too good to be back :wink: )
     
  14. OP
    OP
    KHUBBU

    KHUBBU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i never use dust covers . too irirtating. klinux's ac filter idea is good i will try it.
     
  15. alib_i

    alib_i New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    omnipresent
    my computer is a heaven for spiders to check their cobweb making skills
    and yes its home for a pair of home lizards too





    just kidding
    but it true for my friend
     
  16. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    when I was a kid... i used to clean dust and "makdi ka jaal" from my system internally through my dad's shaving brush and my painting brush very carefullyand reahlly it worked :)

    now vaccume cleaner is for me... but I still need those brushes while cleaning my system every 5-6 months... :lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page