What are we Running After ?

Should companies continue production of low Mhz Processors ?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

vswizard

Broken In
Hi every1..

just sitting around one day :idea: it came to my mind that i am still stuck with a old PIII machine.. 833 Mhz,815 MB , 384 MB Ram , 7200 RPM 80 GB hdd.

i still wonder :shock: what magic is P4 3.4XE going to bring to my desktop.

See.. i have been using this machine since 1999 , the only things i have changed is added another slot of 128 mb ram and upgraded my hdd to 7200 rpm 80GB... i m working on a WinXP + SP1 that boot in under 30 seconds.. my login that occurs in under 7 seconds.. apps everything works so well.. i use Visual Basic for programming and Dreamweaver MX for webdesigning.. Flash.. even PhotoShop too.. works all well.. i still play quake 3.. works fine.. So why are we running after higher and higher clock speeds only to play high end games ????

In india 80% of the ppl use their machines for typing work.. or for other data entry operation , watching movies.. do programming. Only a % of it is into hardcore gaming.. so does this justify vendors put in more and more of Mhz.. why can't companies come up with a low end , low priced processor.. that allow Rs.10000 pcs to be built ??? Call centers put in huge resources.. think of organizations.. who are to purchase 1000's PCs and they get them at half the price.. imagine the saving..

The QUESTION IS WHAT ARE WE RUNNING AFTER ???

vsWizard

it_waaznt_me

Coming back to life ..
You are like me vsWizard ... If I am gonna upgrade then I ll buy a laptop for mobile computing ... And I am considering to buy a GPU cauz Max Payne II doesnt run on my system ..

OP
V

vswizard

Broken In
What a coincidence.. i m planning to do the same.. i believe the only thing my machine lacks is a GPU.. gonna try if i can get something good for reasonable price.. else... will buy an additional laptop..

vsWizard
( Chill !!! )

kunal