web hosting with shell access

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by ranjan2001, Mar 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    I am looking for a web host & have few questions.

    1. Should I go for linux based or windows based hosting, what difference will the 2 make to my website. I need apache+php+mysql database support.

    2. I need to upload zip files & unzip them on server my present host does not provide shell access saying security concerns.

    I dont know how else can I unzip the files on server, I have heard about corn jobs but have no clue about it.

    Can anyone suggest me a good host fullfilling the above requirements.
    Thanks
     
  2. desertwind

    desertwind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    1. That depends on you requirement. As you need AMP, I'll better suggest you to go for Linux hosting. Windows hosting is good if you wanna use ASP.

    2. If you have directAdmin, it has an option to uncompress .gz files. I dont know whether any such tool available for Cpanel.

    You can also set cron job or use php's exec to execute commands.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ranjan2001

    ranjan2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Delhi
    So In my case I have no use of windows hosting as I am not using ASP.

    Can you tell me more about the php exec command, how does it work, do I need to hvae some php entension enabled for that.
    Thanks
     
  4. thecyclone2k

    thecyclone2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    www.solinweb.net
    Well, I can offer you linux cpanel hosting with online unzip feature but, without shell. In case, this is the only reason for shell access, please pm me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page