want to have a career in softwares!!!! Help!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by speedrider_100, Aug 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. speedrider_100

    speedrider_100 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow (U.P)
    Hello everyone,

    I am quite new in this forum. ok, i am coming right on the topic. well, i am around 23 years old. i have done a 3 years diploma in softwares. completed in 2004. after that i alomost left this field and was working with airtel as a backoffice support. now i want to have a stable career. I want to pursue a career in softwares but the problem is i forgot what i had studied earlier. i can't even review the basics of what i learnt. I know i can learn all this but still not able to decide from where i should have to start. i have the opportunity to work with a company in my own city. but i have to be feel comfartable while working with softwares like visual basic & Oracle. i don't have any techinical degree in hand. i am planning for MCA from IGNOU.

    well, suggest me from where i should start? how much time it will take with a constant speed? is that necessary that you should have all the knowledge about the available languages or you just need to concentrate on few of them. suggest me friends. i want to have a career in softwares. what should i have to do for that. will it be tough for me to get a decent job ?

    replies appreciated.
    Mayank
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2006
  2. the_moon

    the_moon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Well, U say that U've forgotten everything that u did in ur diploma sounds weird, I think u need brushing up what u studied!
    For a stable career in th s/w field u can start by brushing up ur C & JAVA. Theer are various online tutorials as well as books available for the same & I'm sure U wont have much of a problem.
    After this u can take up HTML & other scripting languages.
    I think all this is more than enough for a start.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    speedrider_100

    speedrider_100 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow (U.P)
    Thanks man for the suggestion. well, i have worked on VB before. should i start with VB. i couldn't get C much. i found VB more interesting than anyother language.
     
  4. kumarmohit

    kumarmohit New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,167
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riding an Oliphaunt
  5. gaurav_indian

    gaurav_indian CG Artist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    VB is becoming outdated.If you want to make your future then go for .NET.
    I have done BCA from IGNOU.MCA(IGNOU) under progress.2 years diploma from NIIT.Still if you want to make your future as a software developer you have to be in touch with all the programming languages.If you are not good at programming then try yourself in Animations which I am also doing bcoz as I am not doing my MCA regular, I have to do 2-3 courses to secure my future.You have to workhard in programming.Remember C and C++ are the basic you should know so never leave them even if you don't like them.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    speedrider_100

    speedrider_100 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow (U.P)
    Well, i haven't read forum rules. sorry for that. i exactly didn't know where should i have to placed my query down. i will keep in mind next time.well, thanks for your suggestions. well, i just wanna know one thing more, that i couldn't done any vast project on C or C++, even after that i was able to got VB. i want to continue with VB for 1-2 months after that i will switch over to .net. how is that? I am reviewing VB these days, apart from that i would try to get C n C++. suggestions appreciated.
     
  7. bukaida

    bukaida New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KOLKATA
    The basic VB will help you in switching to VB .NET.
     
  8. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    Dude!!!! You have done diploma!!! not degree , to apply for MCA --> "Masters in Computer application" you need a Bachelor s degree. i.e., BCA , BE , Btech etc etc. to the best of my knowledge if you havent done a bachelors course then you cant do a masters course. I myself have done diploma and also BE. The best you can do right now is BCA and not MCA.

    [​IMG]

    here is the info of the eligibility you need to have for MCA ignou link.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2006
  9. gaurav_indian

    gaurav_indian CG Artist

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi,India
    Yep you are right.We haven't noticed that in his post that he has done diploma and now wants to do Post Graduation(which can't be done without completing graduation).
     
  10. the_moon

    the_moon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Hmm. even I agree!
    Probably Speedrider has done Bachelors (not in any Tech related field & thats why he hasn't mentioned it!) & the diploma as an additional qualification, 'cause almost everyone knows that Masters can't be done without completeing bachelors! This is what I interpret!
     
  11. OP
    OP
    speedrider_100

    speedrider_100 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lucknow (U.P)
    Dude, i have done degree course too man, as an additional qualification i did that software diploma. i have completed my PG too this year. but i don have BCA or MCA. i am eligible for MCA extract that i don have maths in my 10+2. so i have to clear an exam regarding maths first. well anyways, thanx for the response. suggestions welcome.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page