Wanna know how to convert a 5700 LE into 5700 ultra ?

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by regenade, Nov 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. regenade

    regenade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hey guys,

    can anyone tell me how can i convert my GAinward Ultra 860le (FX 5700 LE ) into a 5700 ultra?
    pliz tell me whether a soft mod is pissible using utilities like riva tuner which bundles utilities like nvstrap?

    Hope any of the knowledgeble members will provide a good guide for software modding.

    ***my card can handle it i guess , as i have overclocked it from 250Mhz core to 375 Mhz & 400 Mhz memory to 525 Mhz .

    Hoping a lot of replies,


    Supratim(regenade)
     
  2. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    where did you get this wrong info.
    the Rivatuner pipeline unlock softmod is not for 5700. Its for 6800 cards.
    You cannot turn 5700LE to 5700U.
    5700LE has nothing to unlock. Its clocked slower on core and memory.
    Dont flash it to 5700U. 5700Ultra has power connector to provice it extra power which 5700LE dosent.
    You will end up damaging your graphic card by flashing.
    All you can do is overclock the card as far as it can go.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    regenade

    regenade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    5700 LE to ULtra

    well funky,

    actually i saw that in a post in nvworld forum
    but i guess 5700 ultra has more pixel/vertex pipelines than a 5700LE , how can i unlock those.

    bye

    regenade
     
  4. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
  5. [flAsh]

    [flAsh] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    can convert a 5700le into 5700U by a Vbios update. update vbios with that of 5700U and be sure 2 backup old bios.one word of caution here. ur GFX might not be able to take the frequencies of a Ultra so first check its overclockability
     
  6. blade_runner

    blade_runner New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    @flash u cant convert a 5700LE to a 5700U, since
    The le don't have a connector. You can try flashing to a 5700 pure maybe.

    edit: i meant don't :D
     
  7. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    no not all LEs have molex.
    Also its not about clock speeds always.
    most 5700U will ship with BGA ramsinks with more tighter memory timings ( timings and not speed ). And most LEs use old TSOP memory chips which cannot handle the tight timings.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page