wanna install linux dual boot

Status
Not open for further replies.

theraven

Technomancer
i know this topic has been covered
but ive tried everything .. and nuthin works .. also im very new to linux and its partitions etc .... so plz just follow me here
ok i have 2*160gb sata in raid 0 ... with winxp
i have an extra 60 gb hdd and i wanna install linux on it
i already installed suse in it ...
but it wont boot up .. it gives some lba error
i tried changin the boot sequence as well

its installed on ext2 file system
and everything is on the 60gb hdd
i havent overwritten the mbr on the sata or anythign

so here it is :
i read somewhere in this case ... and to boot from the windows boot loader
u need to copy the bootsect.lin or something from the linux drive to the windows drive
and add the line c:\bootsect.lin=Linux or something in the boot.ini
my problem is i dun have a floppy drive ... and ofcourse neither can i boot into linux from this config
so how do i get that file and dual boot it ..??
apart form the fact i have no idea abt linux directory structures .. so i wouldnt even know where to look :oops: :(

i tried gettin this software explore2fs ... which supposedly accesses linux drives on windows .... but i couldnt get the proper download link anywhere ..

this isnt important .. but i really do wanna try linux

o and the last time i checked ... disabling sata .. i could boot from the linux drive .. which is quite obvious ...

ive tried searching the forum and GOOGLED it ....
if anyone can find a solution already posted plz go ahead and lock/delete this ...
but any kinda of help is appreciated

KHUBBU

Journeyman
u hav already installed it and it doesn't boot up,
but can u boot into windows normally??

did u partioned the hard disk while installing manually or automatic?

klinux

Ambassador of Buzz
ok i'm guessing ur using the suse version from digit dvd . if u boot from that cd , u have an option to boot to the suse partition already installed . see if it works .