W700i as Bluetooth remote cotrol for PC

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by chits, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chits

    chits Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Guys,

    Has anybody used their SE W700i as a remote for their PC/Laptop and controlled Winamp etc.
    I have connected my phone with PC. but still unable to use it as remote.
    I also have installed SE Bluetooth software.
    waht else to do?

    Thanks
     
  2. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
  3. outlaw

    outlaw De@d

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala
    thanks for da link
     
  4. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. OP
    OP
    chits

    chits Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Guys ,
    Thanks for the links.

    I am a bit new to the stuff ,Where to put this HID file ? On phone or Laptop?
    I made a HID file for W700i from SE software

    I have a widcomm bluetooth dongle, I guess it has some issue (not supporting HID profile with 1.2.2.5 version of driver).

    Has anybody tried with WidComm ?


     
  6. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dunno abt widcomm, but i use bluesoleil. it has a one click hid service. put the hid file in ur phone and activate the corresponding software on ur computer/laptop and control using ur phone.
     
  7. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    If nyone of u have succeeded in making this work / if you do succeed I guess u should write an tutorial on this ... Should be helpful I say :)
     
  8. navneeth_snr

    navneeth_snr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Yes, It has worked for me. My phone is SE W810i. I use BlueSoleil to connect.

    Just copy HID files to phone from PC. It will automatically save to Remote Control Folder.

    Open BlueSoleil application, Search and connect your phone. Once it gets connected, Enable Bluetooth Human Interface Device Service in the BlueSoleil application. Your phone will automatically ask to use Remote Control and select yes.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    chits

    chits Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi ,
    I used the SE Software to create the HID File for W700i , but when I copied the file on phone it doesn't recognize it, do I have to copy in some special folder, I have copied in 'other' folder.

    Anyway I will try with Bluesoli app...
    also Is their any issues with Widcomm device or its driver etc ?
     
  10. navneeth_snr

    navneeth_snr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore


    Use My Phone Explorer, and just drag to the HID files to root (just like copying a java application). It will automatically save to remote control application.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    chits

    chits Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    has anybody used W700i as TV remote?
     
  12. outlaw

    outlaw De@d

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala
    ^^^
    the ir range would be pretty low ; and u'll have to be very near to da t.v so the application beats the purpose of being a remote
     
  13. infra_red_dude

    infra_red_dude Wire muncher!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    none of the java phones can be used at TV remotes!
     
  14. outlaw

    outlaw De@d

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kerala
    i wonder why da t.v remotes are still IR and not bluetooth
     
  15. OP
    OP
    chits

    chits Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think it all depends what the Tv has ..most of the TV/DVD player has IR (though some has RF , in which point of scale is not required) .
    TV are not having Bluetooth coz its a costly technology as compared to IR, also then the remote needs to be bluetooth enabled...

    Now I am able to use my phone as remote control my laptop, it is very helpful While I watch movies with lappy working as DVD player (Audio/Video connected to TV via S-Video)...
    __________
    Has anybody used Bluetooth Pen ??
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page