virus threats:ghost.bat, windows.exe

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by sarincv, Apr 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sarincv

    sarincv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kerala
    There are files in my computer named ghost.bat, windows.exe and a.htm file in allmost all the folders. These r not detected as viruses in my computer but when scanned in another system having the same antivirus and updates, they are identified as viruses.
    I am using AVG 7 and have the latest updates. Plz help me
     
  2. OP
    OP
    sarincv

    sarincv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kerala
    There is another problem. When i copy something and paste it, it prints Hello
     
  3. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    avg detection rates are not good.
    change your antivirus to either avast(free) or buy yourself Norton 2006.
    Although i haven't tried avast but a lot of digit members recommend it.
    i have used Norton 2006, its simply superb but a little resource hoggy, it will make your system crawl if your PC don't have >256MB RAM.
     
  4. it_waaznt_me

    it_waaznt_me Coming back to life ..

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    A bit closer to heaven
  5. FatBeing

    FatBeing Administratus Rotundus

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Also try http://housecall.trendmicro.com with either IE or Firefox (there's no love for Opera in this mean world)

    And as far as free AVs go, avast is better than AVG. I'm not a fan of the interface, but it does its job well.
     
  6. maverickrohan

    maverickrohan SABER RIDER

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    yeah, Norton 2006 with the latest sigs is the best........

    you can also try Kaspersky....many ppl recomend it.........
     
  7. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    avast antivirues is free,quick update, less resourse hungry,faster scan.
     
  8. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    avg is good. stick to it. try to run ur scan IN SAFE MODE.
    additionally, use ewido anti-malware. www.ewido.net
    scan with ewido in safe mode.
    it shud remove ur Rbot-RB Worm (windows.exe) and other malware.
    if itdznt, post ur hijackthis logfile here or at www.hijackthis.de for scrutiny.
     
  9. 47shailesh

    47shailesh Security Exp

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    first of all its not the only duty of Antivirus 2 detect a virus if its cable of but ur OS shud also b up to date so that OS & Antivirus can work in hand to hand to stop exploits. I recommend norton 2006(it simply rocks and if u use Norton internet security no one can easil fork a exploit in ur OS ), karpesky, Panda platinum.
     
  10. kin.vachhani

    kin.vachhani Dreaming Future

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    \internet\home
    Right all these techo people are very much right..But i would like to add a point here is try norton internet security 2006 and zone alarm 6.1 both. Your system will rocks and no one dare to threat u.
     
  11. maverickrohan

    maverickrohan SABER RIDER

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    why use both.....Norton Internet Security 2006 has a firewall of its own.....
     
  12. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    But apart from staying secure, your PC most likely won't be able to do much else. And anyway, won't the two programs conflict with each other?
    I use ZoneAlarm Security Suite (v6.1.744.001) and it pretty much does the job well.
     
  13. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    which one will be better : norton antivirus 2005 vs Avast 4 pro in terms of protection
     
  14. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    I suppose Norton Antivirus 2005 because of the state-of-the-art heusterics engine.
     
  15. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    avast in my opinion. great detection AND REMOVAL !
     
  16. sourav_edu16

    sourav_edu16 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yaar dost
    i got same problem today yaar what happened i think tht's virus day today
    plz post reply to me freind if u got solution
     
  17. VD17

    VD17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hmmm.. regarding the antivirus and ZA question... i use ZoneAlarm pro (not security suite.. that sucked) and NAV 2006 with NAV's Internet Worm Protection switched off... Somehow, i dont trust NAV's IWP. This combo does well for my system. I;m running a P4-1.7 with 256MB ram... fairly quick bootup... havent been infected by a virus since ages....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page