video card to TV: is it dangerous?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by GunshotSilence, Sep 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GunshotSilence

    GunshotSilence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    hi

    my machine is a

    p3 933 mhz+intel 810e chipset
    Samsung Syncmaster 793S 17\" monitor -
    256 mb 133 mghz Sd ram
    geforce4 mx440 pci graphic card
    Seagate 7200rpm barracuda 80 gb hdd
    LG DVDrom
    Lite-on SMH Super allwrite-165P6s DVD writer

    last month i was playing "nfs:most wanted" on my new 29" videocon tv
    by connecting a s-video to RCA(yellow) cale from my video card to tv's video in

    i disable my monitor and made tv as primary device and extended my desktop to tv.

    the game ran fantastic and looked better that a gaming console

    after about 2 hrs of play, i paused the game and went to answer nature's call.

    when i came back and resumed, nothing happened. so checked keyboard connections, etc. still no use. it seemed the pc had freezed.

    so i reset, and disconnected tv. my monitor went blank and light kept blinking.

    so i connected it to my onboard and my monitor/system looked fine.

    "device manager" showed no graphicscard & not detecting at all.

    so i removed my card. physically looks fine. dint reinstall back yet again.

    so MY QUESTION IS, is connecting a video card to TV bad for the card? or something wrong on my part?

    plz help me. i wanna connect my new laptop to the tv too. is it safe?


    used latest drivers back then-last month
     
  2. blademast3r

    blademast3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Island of Time
    AT what res did u play the game???
     
  3. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    ^^
    At what res should one play ?? Even i am planning to do this soon.
     
  4. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    The game looked better on ur geforce 4 MX?????..............AFAIK this card does not even have pixel shaders which the game requires.:D

    btw..............to play on a 29" TV, u will require ultra-high resolution
    I don't think that doing this damages the gfx card though............

    @GunshotSilence
    can u tell me how u did this?? i had tried it once on my 29" TV @ 1024 x 768.............It looked pathetic, 4 some reason, the colour depth was stuck at 256 Colours & i could not even change the refresh rate...........
     
  5. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    @Stalker
    Actually me too used to own an MX 440. But I liked some visuals in some games in that card than my current 7600GT. I played it with 1024*768@max in MX440 oced. POPWW was better on it[not perfomance, but quality] as all these effects has made it ugly. But its not the case with most other games.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    GunshotSilence

    GunshotSilence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    my pci card actually is a eVGA made "geforce 4 mx 440 with agp 8x- 64 mb ram"

    its faster than normal pci gf4 mx440's.

    i played the game -nfs MoWA at 1024*768 and low/medium details

    with same settings i played it on tv.

    i first connected a yellow RCA-svideo cable from card to tv. and booted windows with monitor on. then in Nvidia settings-forced tv detect

    still nothing happened

    then went to display properties-settings, and enabled 2nd device(tv) there and extended my desktop onto it. this way monitor went blank.

    then ran the game and it looked fantastic but for 2hrs only

    how did my card die then? also a friend of a friend of mine did the same with his card too and it exploded
     
  7. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    I ve too played many games on TV on my old MSI GF4 MX 440T8x AGP8x nd no problem found.
    What I did was to buy an s-vid to video analogue cable[the yellow pin on TV].
    Some TVc have shock/current on that pins nd can be felt with hands[not that dangerous though]. Maybe it could fry the card...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    GunshotSilence

    GunshotSilence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    i occed my card by 20mghz in both ram and core speed. dont remember the originals

    plz upload pics of NFS:MoWa as seen on ur cards. i wanna see how its eye candy looks.

    u mean with all effects of new cards, games look uglier than beautiful?
    at medium settings 800*600
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    this on is on low/medium 1024*768 settings
    __________
    hey i too have the same card just by eVGA. and that analogue cable which is yellow in colour is called "s-video to RCA" cable which u get with cards. and yes it does carry current, which can be felt if u join it to graphic card and hold the yellow end in ur hand touching the metal pin.

    but how can it fry my card? and if i buy a new laptop, then on connecting it to tv in same way, will it get fried too? this was my first and last time i played on tv
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2006
  9. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    The pins on TV is supposed to have shock in them...and most brand new ones dun have it. But bout 1 year it begins to produce shock in the pins[have seen more than 10 cases in friens TVs]. So this backward current could cause problem. This shock is causing my whole DVD player body at shock if connected to TV. It was safe cos it waznt that delicate device[DVD player]. But if its a gcard or somethin then could probably fry.
    Ive never tried after my TV started producing shock in them.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    GunshotSilence

    GunshotSilence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    my tv is abrand new videocon 29" and bought last month

    cable from card did give me a shockb4 connecting to tv

    has my card died? any chip level video card repairers here
     
  11. gsoul2soul

    gsoul2soul WOW... are you?

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    I also tried my Card and TV combo it worked... GREAT !!!

    Wow... i was blown away :)

    I connected S-video from AGP card... to the component Video ( R G B) of my Sony 100 Hz, CTV ... it was really nice !!!

    I think, if you're tv has it... use Component rather than compostie input.

    My tv also had some power... but it didn't damage my CARD

    Ciao... gsoul here
     
  12. return_of_vengeance

    return_of_vengeance New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey i connected my nvidia geforce card on laptop to LG
    29" tv but had no probes.... it works great but just colours i find something different
     
  13. gsoul2soul

    gsoul2soul WOW... are you?

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    I think... the color can be tweaked from the Color panel in your AGP or PCI card !!!

    Anyways... i did the same, for my AGP card and it workd just super fine...

    And i still think... The way you feed signal to your TV (specially in bigger ones)... really makes a Difference.

    If you have 3 input "Component Input" (RYB Color Jacks)... then you should opt for that !!!

    You can easily get... S-video to Component (for TV)

    Have fun... Mike here...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page