using hyperterminal

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by mo_hit4u, Apr 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mo_hit4u

    mo_hit4u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can anyone really tell me how HYPERTERMINAL in windows work in radius of about 2km?i use modem 56 kbps modem
     
  2. mod-the-pc

    mod-the-pc Back to School Mr. Bean !

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chennai
    @mo_hit4u irrespective of the distance u can use hyperterminal to transfer files / send messages. While connecting by a modem Hyperterminal uses the telephone network and hence is not limited by distance.
    I've used it to receive a file from my friend 20 km away !!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    mo_hit4u

    mo_hit4u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but i want 2 know how 2 use it as me & my friend
    both have diaL UP CONNECTION THROUGH MODEM
     
  4. hansraj

    hansraj New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    ok....
    go to Start > All programs > accessories > Communications > Hyperterminal
    it will ask u to make telnet u r default program.. click yes
    enter any suitable name ... may be u r friends name to whom u want to communicate
    in the next window enter the required details such as his/ her phone no and select the modem( the 56 kbps modem) if u have more than one modem.
    click yes and proceed.
    next window will ask for dial?
    click yes

    now the window will open in front of u and u can transfer files once both of u get connected.
    to get connected both of u have to be aware that u r connecting to each others computer so the reciever has to be ready to recieve the call as the phone rings.
    make use of Help> Help topics in hyperterminal for further doubts.
    i have used it for transferring files from coimbatore to delhi in one of my friends pc.. not once but many times.

    any more tweak in above ... suggestions are invited
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page