!!!UPS Modding!!! + >>>Increase Backup time Manyfold<<< I have done it....

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by Rollercoaster, Jun 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    PART1

    Hey people. Today i completed my UPS Battery mod!!! :D

    What i had: One Numeric Digital 600 UPS
    [​IMG]

    What I wanted to achieve
    1. Long Back up time in the range of 3-4 hours without adding a whole inverter.(yaar a UPS is itself a inverter and a better one)
    2. LEDs and Fans in the UPS (has to look cool)

    What I used:
    1. One 150AH Local made battery (3200rs)
    2. One 10A charger(650rs)
    2. One 120 MM fan
    3. Ultra Bright white LEDs
    4. A brightness/fan speed control

    What i Did:
    1. Open UPS
    2. Remove internal battery
    3. Add longer battery wires and add terminals to them
    4. Parse and locate the internal charger and disable it.(!!!Most Important and very difficult as the circuit need to be understud and modifid)
    5. Add more ventilation holes(Lots more heat as now it is expected to give backup for more then 4hrs in comparisn to the earlier 10 minutes)
    6. Cutout front panel for ventilation and LED view
    7. Install LED in series with variable preset resister
    8. Add a switch to enable/disable internal charger
    9. Add a switch to enable/disable fan and LED
    10. Close it all up
    11. Connect to the battery and test
    12. Connect External charger
    13. Connect PC and finished

    TIME to build: 2 Hours

    ok here are the pics(I am sorry for the bad image quality.. my camera is junk.)


    Opened UPS:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    this is sad only 4 images allowed in one post that too including smiley......anyways i will use multipleposts
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
    mod-the-pc likes this.
  2. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    PART II

    Changed Battery connecters and lengthened them. Attached big battery connectors
    [​IMG]

    Testing the new LED with a 3.6v battery
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Install FAN and LED
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    PART III

    Installed the FAN and LED(sorry not much visible)
    [​IMG]

    Fire it up for the first time
    [​IMG]

    Close up everything
    [​IMG]

    Install the UPS, connect new battery(u can see the old batteries being put to good use as stand hehe)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    Part IV

    Finished
    [​IMG]

    So what do u guys think. if anyone wants to do it tell me . i will put the steps in detail here...
     
  5. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    wow, a lot of hard work in there. How long does your system run on the higher rating battery? Compare the results.

    I am wondering how long can a laptop last on such a mod, would be a cheaper alternative than a laptop battery or an inverter if you arent taking your laptop to places.
     
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    great mod mate but its to risky to try. u might burn ur ups
     
  7. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Did you check the results? How long your UPS can give backup, I mean did you test
    it? And I want to know the duration (in hours or mins). If you are able to convert
    10 min backup UPS to 3 hours or more. That's great work indeed. Post the results
    here, so that all can see & appreciate.
     
  8. khansdream

    khansdream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Skull Island
    Great work.

    Tell us, what time it is taking to re-charge.
     
  9. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    He is using 150 AH battery and 10A charger and so theoretically it should take 15 hours when totally discharged. But let alone being totally discharged, never even let it fall below 10.5V. (This is assuming he uses a 12V battery)
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    Hey guys.. thanks for the interest..
    havent tested for the max backup time yet but i put the battery in quite a bit charged and it ran for about 3 hours. i am expecting backup time of over 4 hours on a fully charged battery.

    Basically it depends on consumption.
    My PC is a AMD64 3000+ on A8N SLI Prem with 1gb ram, 3hdd, one dvdrom, one dvdrw. 5.1 speakers, 17inch viewsonic ultrabright crt monitor and the PSU is 500W.

    Anyone with a LCD would probabely get backups of over 6 hours.

    Also The battry i used is local made so it is not a full rated 150AH. Can say around 135AH. also i read about One Amp current via my multimeter for stand alone UPS Runnig. so it is pretty good.

    I will post the final backup time tomo as i will charge the battery full tonight and leave the pc running in the morning.

    Anyways the basic math is::
    Suppose ur original UPS gives a backup of 10mins.
    Usually UpS Battery is a 12v 7AH.(charging at 700ma)
    Now suppose u replace it with a 12v 35A battery(the one in a maruti car)
    so u should theoretically get 35/7*10 minutes... i.e 50 minutes
    I have put in a 150A battery so my theoritical backup should be:
    150/7*10 = 214.3 minutes

    The formula can be like this:
    New Backup time in minutes = Old backup time in Minutes multiplied by New battery capacity in AH divided by Old battery capacity in AH.

    One thing to note here is that the old backtime should be the one u got when the ups was new(The battery was at full 7AH capacity)
    another thing to note is that the load(PC and periferals) should be same for the above to be accurate.


    @Sourabh
    Dude if u put on a laptop it will run forever...hehe. A laptop uses very little power. need to know the power rating of the laptop adaptor to tell u the minimum backup time.

    @gary4gar
    To gain some u have to risk sum. The danger of UPS burning is less then the danger of the PERSON getting electrocuted while modding.
    BTW this is the reason i put in a FAN :) (for cooling)
    Otherwise alsi i have givin this a lot of thought. U should realise that a UPS has a inbuilt voltage stabiliser on the same transformer. so if the transformer can talk the load of the PC while stepping up/down then it can ofcourse take the load of the PC on battry mode(that is also without stepping up/down)

    @khansdream
    janitha is right about the charging time calculation. But i am not charging at a full 10A. I have brought a variable current charger and set it on 4A. Besides the light problem here is not that bad that i have to freq use the pc on long battery backup. Whenever needed i can turn up the charging current.

    also abt the 10.5v thing. there is a thing about batteries(say 12v) called deep discharge(below 9.8v) and overcharge(above13.5v). whenever these thresholds are crossed there is a 20-30% damage to the power of the battery. that is why auto cut-off chargers are used. and that is why the UPS turns off before the battry is fully discharged. Anyways usually there are full 300 cycles for a battry before is starts to go down in capacity.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2006
  11. TechGuru#1

    TechGuru#1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great work & post for sure!
     
  12. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    Man, a very gud modding. But still all this must be around 8k to 9k + risk factor.
    We can get a fairly gud inverter in its place.

    Will try this in a month or two and will definitely get in touch with u.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    come on dude... where did "8k to 9k" come from, as i said in the 1st post, total cost = battery+charger = 3200+650 = 3850 + misc electronics. Also inverters produce bad electricity(for PC) as PC requires Sine wave and Inverters give TPZi wave. sure, sine wave inverters are also available but they give lower backup(low efficiency) and cost more.


    EDIT: here is a pic of the system running of UPS mode and the backup time finally...

    The total time it reports is approx 3 and a half hours(running for 2.5hrs and 55mins remaning).
    This was done with the system running on Sissandra BurnIN auto cycle and Monitor on maximum monitor brightness. So i am happy to say that at full load i get backup of 3.5 hours.
    Probabily on normal usage it will be above 4.25 hours.(as it purely depends on usage it is hard to give a accurate value, like if i am surfing the net then it will be much longer then while i am playing games)

    NOTE: It shows the LOAD Incorrect

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2006
  14. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    UPS around 2.5k
    battery+charger=3850
    misc electronics=made a wild guess to add to 8k to 9k.
    And where do u fit the fan mate.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    UPS is already a must.. whether inverter or not. god help u if u dont use ur PC on a UPS.

    And misc eletronics is just wires, LEDS, cooling fan... total less then 100rs

    See the pictures above to see where u fit the fan.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  16. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    i do use a ups but still its cost has to be taken into account. I cant find any pictures rollercoaster.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    man there are approx 12-14 pics here...cant u see them?

    see the source code or press quote on each post to see the image webaddress.

    well UPS cost is not taken into account as it is a MOD. The basic idea was to increasing backup capacity. I never thought about the total cost. anyways which ever way u see it, it is cheaper this way and more efficient and safe for the comp
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2006
  18. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    Alright seen them. Good creativity. Dont know what problem it is. Couldnt see the pics in opera nor in iexplorer.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    thanks. ya i get that creativity comment a lot.

    anyways here are a few updates...

    I installed a new chargerit charges fast and has better auto cut-off circuit.
    It was getting too hot so i installed a pIII fan inside it.
    [​IMG]

    here is another look at my creativity. Installing switches is real boring and takes lot of space. besides it makes the front look bad. so i did something new.. I installed jumper pins and use jumbers as switches :)
    [​IMG]

    here is where is got the pins from.It is the circuit plate of a CDROM. the one where the IDE cable connects.
    Then i heated them and they went thru the plastic like knife thru butter. this is a very convenient method and WORKS!!!
    [​IMG]


    colage by picasa 2.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2006
  20. ~Phenom~

    ~Phenom~ The No.1 Stupid

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBERYARD
    whoa , great post man.
    Really commendable.
    keep it up.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page