1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

Upgrade HELPPPPPPP!

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by ante_climax, Dec 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ante_climax

    ante_climax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I neeed an upgrade from my p4 1.6 ghz system as the ram and board has become obselete........I will like to spend as much as Rs 25000 iand 80 gb SATA hdd and 512 mb ddr 400 ram ...I want. But haven't decided on the Processor and Board yet shall i go for AMD 64 or Intel p4..........pls help.........................!
     
  2. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    u need the foll config???....

    80GB SATA HDD
    512MB DDR400 RAM

    HDD will be around 3200-3500,nd single chip of DDR400 RAM 512MB will be of 4000,though i'll recommend going for 2 chips of 256MB each..so that they can run at dual mode...

    well deciding among AMD nd intel is TOUGHEST!!!!
    to tell u the truth iam a die hard fan of AMD,my previous 3/4 pc's/upgrades r all of AMD...but the latest PC i assembled is of intel ...p4 3GHz...so its upto u to decide....

    moreover if the budget is strictly 25000,then u cant spend on a good quality gfx card...so u need to pick up a mobo with onboard VGA....
     
  3. icecoolz

    icecoolz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bangalore
    That is only the case if hes goin for an AMD 64 system. I dont see why people shoudl spend so much money on an AMD64 system when there arent even 64 bit OS's out there yet. 64 bit computing will become the norm in only 2 years time. And by that time SLI's , PCi-E, dual CPU's and DDR2 will also become the norm. So why go for a 64 bit system. Guys.....think b4 jumping the 64 bit bandwagon!
     
  4. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    :lol: ..iam with u on this ice...100% rite!!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ante_climax

    ante_climax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well i read many reviews from cnet i saw the AMD 3200+ Athlon and even the 3000+ Athlon outperforming prescott p4s! in leagacy 32 bit Benchmarks especially in Graphics. But as intel boards now with the 915 and later chipsets offering more features (hmm i doubt better perfomance than AMD cus just there were 2 many reviews) well then again is it stable the AMD platform and i too think that its still in its infatnsy period......as AMD is trying new sockets and all hmmm will it happen to me once again........well i am one of those lcuky duuds who bought the p4 willamette hehehhe.......or is it really time for an upgade as the new techies keep coming
     
  6. funkymonkey

    funkymonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    64 bit compatability if Athlon 64 is added bonus.
    The processor is minblowingly fast even in 32 bit apps and games.
    Not having 64 bit OS in no way hampers performance of Athlon64.
    I will give you some numbers from personal experience.
    Previously I had P4 2.6C overclocked to 3.25Ghz. And it was crunching out 108 FPS in CSS stress test at 1024x768, 4XAA, 8XAF with GF 6800GT of mine.
    Now I have upgraded to Athlon64 3200+. At stock speeds this same graphic card at same settings is giving 127FPS. See how much the difference is.
    If you want gaming machine Athlon 64 is a way to go.
    P4 as of now has upper hand in 3d modelling softwares such as 3dsmax and maya and audio encoding where pure Mhz matters.
    You have PCI express option for Athlon 64 too.
    If you read the reviews you will see how much athlon64 outperforms Pentium4.
    Read reviews at anandtech and toms hardware.
    In games you will fing A64 3200+ outperforming 3.4 and in some cases even 3.6Ghz P4s.
    And mind you 3200+ is only 2Ghz CPU.
     
  7. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think everyone agrees that the A64 is a great CPU and that AMD has the upper hand in processor technology at the moment. If a buyer is not very price-conscious and always wants the latest and the best, then an S939 A64 would be the way to go.

    But most of us have to balance price against performance, and 64-bit systems cost significantly more than, say, Athlon XP systems. Especially for those who have to make do with on-board graphics at least for the time being, there are still no 64-bit motherboards with on-board graphics that can even come close to an nForce2 IGP. For reasonable gaming experience, a separate graphics card is a must for a 64-bit machine.

    Therefore, the difference in total cost between a 32-bit system and a 64-bit system can be much more than the cost difference between the CPU-motherboard combinations alone.

    If one is thinking of future-proofing against the advent of 64-bit softwares, those are still a few years down the road, and by that time a current bleeding-edge machine will have become decidedly non-cutting-edge.

    Conclusion : if cost is not a big factor for you, buy a 64-bit machine. If it is, go for a 32-bit system and spend the money saved on a good graphics card or something else you need.
     
  8. liquid_nitrogen88

    liquid_nitrogen88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Pole....n searchin 4 a cooler place
    Thats holds true for each & every motherboard out there in the market whether 32 or 64 bit including the nForce 4 chipset.

    thats the fact none of the novice buyers r willing to digest.
    if we tell a new buyer addicted to games but with a limited budget to get an athlonXP+9800PRO,he will consult someone else & finally buy a 64 bit with onboard graphics since he wants "the latest" & NOT "the best suited for his need & budget".
     
  9. indro

    indro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kolkata
    AMD64 is the way to go Dude :)
     
  10. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    :shock: :shock: 64...64 everywhere...
    but will u be utilising FULL POTENTIAL for 64bit CPU???
     
  11. OP
    OP
    ante_climax

    ante_climax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm guess i have to make up my mind quickly and guess its going to be ahrd. I hate this old meahcine. i want a new one...well i may be able to afford a reasonable Graphics card.....but i contacted local vendors these duuds dunn have AMD 64 939s and seems like intel is paying them as the newest prescotts are there. I amf rom Trivandrum, Kerala.........Dunno ne one in other states.....or cities like Delhi Mumbai or Chennai.....and i am worried abt gurantee probs.....if go out there on my own...........the last thing i want to do is having no other options but intel cos of this reason.....
     
  12. geek_rohit

    geek_rohit New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gurgaon
    Well buddy i would recommend to go for the Intel's camp since their 915 and 925 chipsets are just rocking , besides their mobos are too good. Go for as much RAM u could. Try getting two RAM chips of same size and frequency so as to get them working in Dual Channel Mode. This is goin to be quite a good performer. Try getting a board which gives u the option of DDR as well as DDR2. so that u can now add the DDR. And after some time when the DDR2 modules are cheaper go and get them. As for the GPU even I'm quite confused*. So apart from the GPU this would be my suggestion for u. And u can check my Post at the Hardware Discussion for the GPU queries.


    * If U or any Digit reader would like to help please post ur message on the Hardware Discussion Forum where I have Postes my New Post. Hey guess what I have included a poll 'bout the Brand os GPU u have
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page