1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

two xp boot options??? HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by vengeanceofdeath, Aug 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vengeanceofdeath

    vengeanceofdeath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    like a fool i tried to use a software to change my boot up screen, and when it didnt work i uninstalled it. now however, whenever i start up, i get two os choices. this is exactly how the options are given including the brackets:

    Windows XP(bootscreen)
    Windows XP

    and ever since this happened, my system never remmebers that i have the quick launch toolbar set to visible, that my volume levels are set to medium, and i have to keep resetting everytime i start my comp. while not life threatening, it is exceedingly irritating.

    could someone help please?
     
  2. aadipa

    aadipa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Palghar, Mumbai
    u can edit hidden file c:\boot.ini to remove the line of non working boot option. use notepad to do this.

    also the file will be hidden, so first set folder options to show hidden files and to show protected operating system files.

    about other problems, they are not related to this boot options.
     
  3. NikhilVerma

    NikhilVerma Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    do create a backup of the file if anything goes wrong!!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    vengeanceofdeath

    vengeanceofdeath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx. ill check if it works.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    vengeanceofdeath

    vengeanceofdeath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got rid of the extra boot option but quick launch still disappears every time i restart. any suggestions?
     
  6. spykids_666

    spykids_666 Guest

    how many user a/c do you have on your pc.
    1) enter into ur pc a/c.
    2) make the changes (sound quick launch etc).
    3) restart. if this dosent work.
    4) create an a/c from the control pannel and then set the settings and restart.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page