1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

TUTORIAL: How to use the free space under RUN in New Windows XP Start Menu!

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Vishal Gupta, May 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Guys!
    Did u ever noticed that free space under the Run menuitem in New Windows XP Start Menu?
    The following tutorial give u the way to use that free space for ur own shortcut, e.g., u can create a shortcut for Windows Media Player in that free space, as I hv done in my tutorial :)

    How to use the free space under RUN in New Windows XP Start Menu

    In the above tutorial the things, which I hv posted in BOLD may be changed for other shortcuts. Like u can change the name to some other if u want!
    The "Default Icon" is the path of the icon file, which u want to display in the Start menu shortcut. (NOTE: Double slashes r compulsory).
    Similarly, the "Param1" in "Instance\InitPropertyBag" is the path of the executable file, to which u want to create the shortcut. (Here also the Double slashes r compulsory!).
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2007
    s18000rpm and ashisharya like this.
  2. demoninside9

    demoninside9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanx.................yaar
    its very good stuff
     
  3. anandk

    anandk Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    i m gonna try this ..................... :)
     
  4. aku

    aku Gonna make it BiG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Familiar with Java... SORRY POINTER NOT ALLOWED!!!
    yeah man... nice stuff...
     
  5. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    A screenshot of my start menu is attached with the post. Where is the space below 'Run'?

    P.S. - Sorry for having to extract the file to see it but my original JPEG file exceeded the forums upload limitations (which is VERY low)!
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2006
  6. ashisharya

    ashisharya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Locating....Locating...Access Denied!!!
    cool post man...keep up the good work
     
  7. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice...reg..tweak....
    Keep it up!!
     
  8. qarch

    qarch Going green anyone?

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice! Now how do I change it so as to enable me to start another appln of my choice? Will changing just the bold portions to my app work? Or more of other applns?
     
  9. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    Cool tweak. Applied it but haven't logged of yet.
    Can u help out with replacing those unncessary icons like "Help and support", serach, set program acees and defaults, printers and faxes.
    I hope we can do these.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    Open gpedit.msc and go to:

    User Configurations -> Administrative Templates -> Start Menu and Taskbar

    and in right-side pane, u can disable the items which u want. :)
     
  11. speedyguy

    speedyguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bangalore/Jamshedpur
    some usefull stuff dude...thanx for those

    cheers
     
  12. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    And then how to use that recovered space??
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    U can only add one extra application as I hv mentioned in this thread.
    If u disable some items in start menu and see extra space, u can reduce the no. of recent items (default is 6) to remove that extra space .
     
  14. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    lets we do it for wmp & then we want it to be some other shortcut so changing the paths & then carrying on the whole process will edit the previous shortcut naa.
    And what if i wanna remove it.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    YES!
    If u change the entries (given in BOLD latters in the first post), it'll change the shortcut.
    And to remove it, simply delete the whole key "{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}" in registry!
     
    ashfame likes this.
  16. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
    thanks, repped u.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    thnx buddy! :)
    Also saw ur siggy.
     
  18. iceeeeman

    iceeeeman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude I Want To Put A Winamp Shortcut Instead Of Windows Player So For Tht Which All Changes Ill Have To Make, I Hv Changed The Directry But Its Not Workin!!!!!!!it Comes Winamp.exe Does Not Exits???
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    As I already mentioned in first post, u'll hv to change entries in BOLD letters. ;)
    For Winamp, if its EXE is placed in following directory:

    %ProgramFiles%\Winamp

    then the required code will be:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
    @="Winamp"
    "InfoTip"="Winamp"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\DefaultIcon]
    @="%SystemRoot%\\system32\\SHELL32.dll,168"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\InProcServer32]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
    00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,73,00,68,00,\
    64,00,6f,00,63,00,76,00,77,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,00,00
    "ThreadingModel"="Apartment"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance]
    "CLSID"="{3f454f0e-42ae-4d7c-8ea3-328250d6e272}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\Instance\InitPropertyBag]
    "CLSID"="{13709620-C279-11CE-A49E-444553540000}"
    "method"="ShellExecute"
    "Command"="Winamp"
    "Param1"="%ProgramFiles%\\Winamp\\winamp.exe"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}]
    @=""
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\shellex\MayChangeDefaultMenu]
    @=""
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{2559a1f6-21d7-11d4-bdaf-00c04f60b9f0}\ShellFolder]
    "Attributes"=dword:00000000
    
     
  20. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    thanks for this tut
    try to post screen shots
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page